India meets Bangladesh in final

GURGAON MARCH 29. Keshav Mishra and Manav Das both carded identical scores of two-over-par 74 and steered India into the final of the fourth SAARC championship, at the Classic Golf Resort here on Friday.

India, defending its title, hardly found any opposition in making it to its fourth straight final with a score of 290.

There was, however, a surprise in store for Sri Lanka, which was pushed to the third spot by Bangladesh. In the three previous editions, India and Sri Lanka had met in the summit clash — India winning all encounters with identical 2-1 margins.

After two days of strokeplay, Bangladesh's cumulative score was 305, five strokes better than Sri Lanka (310). Mohammed Siddikur Rahman and Mohammed Milon Ahmed continued with their steady performance and remained in the 70s to edge out the Lankans. Rahman had a score of 76 while Ahmed carded 78.

With an aggregate of 143 for the two rounds, Manav Das won the individual SAARC trophy.

The scores:

India: 290 (Keshav Mishra 73, 74; Manav Das 69, 74 and Jasjit Singh 74, 77); India `B': 291 (Vikram Chopra 74, 73 and Simarjit Singh 72, 72); Bangladesh: 305 (Mohammed Siddikur Rahman 75, 76; Mohammed Milon Ahmed 76, 78 and Mohammed Hossain Mia 83, 82); Sri Lanka: 310 (Lalitha Kumara 75, 74 and Amrit De Soysa 79, 82); Nepal: 318 (C. B. Bhandari 80, 76; Deep Badnyet 87, 87 and Yelamber Adhikari 83, 79); Bhutan: 322 (Tashi Tshering 80, 79; Sonan W. Kesang 83, 89 and Tshenchok Thinlay 87, 80).

Recommended for you