Hyderabad is champion

BANGALORE, NOV. 29. Hyderabad emerged champion in the V. Pattabhiraman Trophy South Zone under-17 tournament that concluded here on Monday.

In the last league match, Hyderabad defeated Goa by an innings and eight runs to top the league with 14 points. Earlier, Goa was bowled out for 86 in its second innings as S.M. Shoaib, Vishal and Kushal claimed three wickets each.

Andhra emerged runner-up with 13 points after it had to settle for a draw against Karnataka in its last league match.

Karnataka took the third spot with nine points.

In another match, Tamil Nadu defeated Kerala by an innings and 117 runs.

Tamil Nadu finished fourth with seven points, while Kerala (2 pts) and Goa (nil) occupied the last two spots of the league.

The scores:

Goa 163 in 65 overs and 86 in 33.4 overs (Aniket Desai 25, S.M. Shoaib three for 19, Vishal three for 20, Kushal Jilla three for 40) lost to Hyderabad 257 in 91 overs.

Karnataka 278 in 147.1 overs and 43 for two in 14 overs drew with Andhra 295 in 106.3 overs (V. Sandeep 122, Prabhu Kiran 75, M.R. Darshan five for 65, Imran Khan three for 90).

Tamil Nadu 428 for two declared in 81.3 overs bt Kerala 132 in 53.4 overs and 179 in 60 overs (Praveen Achutan 36, Rajilal 59, G.P. Rizwan 26, Martin five for 28, Pandiarajan four for 59). — Our Sports Reporter.

Recommended for you