Hyderabad follows on

HYDERABAD, DEC. 27. Pathetic batting performance saw Hyderabad face the ignonimy of being forced to follow-on against Andhra on the third day of the four-day South Zone Ranji Trophy league match at the Gymkhana Grounds here today.

In reply to Andhra's first innings score of 365, Hyderabad was bundled out for 180. At close in the second essay, Hyderabad was 68 for two, still needing 117 runs to avoid an innings defeat and a possible elimination from the championship itself. Since Karnataka were to score outright win against Goa and Hyderabad loses this match, then the latter will be out of reckoning.

With the exception of Nandakishore (54, 318 min, 208 balls, 9x4) none of the batsmen showed the required technical competence.

Shahabuddin triggered the slide when he got rid of Anirudh Singh. Vanka Pratap retired hurt after he ducked expecting a bouncer but the ball didn't gain any height. Vinay Kumar slashed only to be brilliantly caught at gully by Amit Pathak of G.N. Srinivas. Arjun Yadav was unimpressive before he too perished to the off-spin of Vatekar. Rohit Sabharwal was gobbled up by Vatekar at silly point, awkwardly fending off a rising delivery from Madhukar.

At lunch, Hyderabad was 110 for five. In the first over after the break, Vanka Pratap, who was back after getting the treatment for his left hand, was unlucky to be declared lbw to Madhukar. The rest of the batting failed to make any impact despite Shivaji Yadav's effective use of the long-handle. Andhra had the moral victory of enforcing the follow-on, 16 minutes before the tea-break.

The start in the second essay was nothing different for the home team as Daniel Manohar whipped Shahabuddin straight to Vatekar at square-leg and soon Anirudh Singh fell in the off- stump trap against Madhukar.

The scores:

Andhra - 1st innings: 365.

Hyderabad - 1st innings: Daniel Manohar c R.V.Ch.Prasad b N.Madhukar 18, A. Nandakishore c M.S.K. Prasad b K.S. Shahabuddin 54, Anirudh Singh c M.S.K. Prasad b K.S. Shahabuddin 12, Vanka Pratap lbw b N. Madhukar 15, D. Vinay Kumar c Amit Pathak b G.N. Srinivas 5, N. Arjun Yadav c Amit Pathak b Hemal Vatekar 1, Rohit Sabharwal c Hemal Vatekar b N. Madhukar 1, J. Shivaji Yadav c H. Vatekar c & b Hemal Vatekar 36, S.L.V.P. Raju c Fayaz Ahmed b K.S. Shahabuddin 15, Vishnuvardhan c R.V.Ch. Prasad b H. Vatekar 6, Narinderpal Singh (not out) 2. Extras: (4lb, 2w, 9nb) 15. Total: (in 83.3 overs) 180.

Fall of wickets: 1-33, 2-56, 3-95, 4- 101, 5-109, 6-109, 7-135, 8-161, 9-178.

Andhra bowling: Madhukar 22-10-42-3, Shahabuddin 27-10-59-3, R.V.Ch. Prasad 7-2-26-0, Vatekar 20.3-9- 31-3, Md. Faiq 3-1-12-0, G.N. Srinivas 4-1-6-1.

Hyderabad - 2nd innings: A. Nandakishore (batting) 34, Daniel Manohar c H. Vatekar b K.S. Shahabuddin 4, Anirudh Singh c Venugopala Rao b N. Madhukar 10, Vanka Pratap (batting) 12. Extras: (2lb, 1w, 5nb) 8. Total: (for two wkts. in 34 overs) 68.

Fall of wickets: 1-15, 2-37.

Andhra bowling: Madhukar 10-2-29-1, Shahabuddin 8-0-14-1, R.V.Ch. Prasad 8-6-10-0, Vatekar 7-3-12-0, G.N. Srinivas 1-0-1-0.