Deepak, Armaan, Karan take honours

COIMBATORE, APRIL 24. Deepak Chinnappa (Bangalore), Armaan Ebrahim (Chennai) and Karan Goenka (Bangalore) kept their cool right through to emerge champions of the JK Tyre Rotax Max Challenge Indian series, organised by LG Sports and Spitfire Motorsports Private Limited, at the Kari Motor Speedway track in Chettipalayam, near here on Saturday.

Deepak started off in a brilliant fashion in the 25-lap race for the seniors. He hugged the corners well and sped the straights with relative ease. That enabled him to maintain a good distance from his nearest rivals Raymond Banajee (Pune), Sharan Parake (Mumbai) and Preetham Muniappa.

Even as Deepak kept increasing the lead, Raymond, Sharan and Preetham were fighting for the second spot.

It looked good for Deepak till the 23rd lap when he found that Raymond had closed in and was just half-a-kart length away. But the 17-year-old class XII student pressed on the accelerator to finish the race in 17:15.797 for the title.

In the race for the juniors, it was Armaan all the way. The 15-year-old, who went through a tough pre-final thanks to Aditya Akineni, had the last laugh in the final.

Karan Goenka of Bangalore excelled in the cadets category. The 12-year-old led from the pole in the 10-lap race to claim his first win of the season.

Earlier in the day, Gaurav Dalal (Fissme), Gurunath Meiyappan (Esteem class) and Raj Virdhan (FLGB) took the pole for the races to be held on Sunday.

In the two-wheeler section for the Kari Motor Speedway Open Championship, it was Preetham Dev Moses (Group D, 4 stroke 80cc to 110cc), M. Ganesh Prasad (Group D, 2 stoke 111cc to 160cc), Muruganandan (Group D, 4 stroke 161cc to 250cc) and Emmanuel Jebraj (Group D, 4 stroke, 111cc to 160cc) who took the top position.

Veteran driver Harish Samtani, withdrew from the qualifiers under protest due to the 500 per cent hike in licence fee.

Recommended for you