Commonwealth under-19 event from Dec. 28

NEW DELHI DEC. 24. The inaugural Commonwealth under-19 cricket championship will be held at various venues in Haryana and Uttar Pradesh, from December 28 to January 11.

Eight teams, South Africa, Bangladesh, Kenya, Singapore, Sri Lanka, the West Indies and two Indian sides, India and India `A', will take part in the championship launched by the School Games Federation of India and Jawaharlal Nehru Sports Trust. The matches will be played over 50-over-per-side.

The teams have been divided into two groups of four teams each with top two sides making it to the semifinals. While Nahar Singh Stadium in Faridabad will host the final, K.D. Singh Babu Stadium, Lucknow, Tau Devi Lal Stadium, Gurgaon and TERI Oval, Gurgaon, are the other venues.

The groupings:

Group `A': India, Kenya, Singapore and the West Indies.

Group `B': Bangladesh, India `A', South Africa and Sri Lanka.

Recommended for you