Buchi Babu tournament from today

CHENNAI, AUG. 14. Sahara India Parivar has, for the third consecutive year, come forward to sponsor TNCA's Buchi Babu all-India invitation cricket tournament to be held from August 15 to September 2. What is more, Sahara has entered a team as well this year to strengthen its association with this prestigious tournament.

With Sahara team's addition, the tournament will feature a field of 13, with the winner to take home Rs. 1,00,000, the runner-up Rs. 50,000 and each losing semifinalist Rs. 15,000.

Briefing newsmen on Friday, C.R. Vijayaraghavan, Secretary, TNCA, said a feature of the tournament this time was that it would be conducted on a league-cum-knock-out format. "This will provide an opportunity for a team to have at least two matches at the league stage — something the nine outstation teams will welcome," he said.

Leading cricketers generally patronise this tournament. Ajay Jadeja (Sahara) and Zaheer Khan (IOC) were the two prominent names mentioned from among the few team lists that were available with the organisers.

The teams and the zones they have been placed are: SPIC-TNCA XI, Hyderabad, Assam (`A' zone), Punjab Colts, Sahara, Bengal (`B' zone), IOC, TNCA President's XI, Delhi DCA (`C' zone) and Maharashtra, Bihar, Vidarbha and Districts XI (`D' zone).

Each zone winner qualifies for the knock-out semifinal. All matches (league included) are of a three-day duration (90 overs and 45 overs).

Districts XI: Petson Mathews (capt.), V. Gautam, M. Gopal, Kishore V. Nath, E. Suresh, K. Sivakumar, Subramanya Siva, Huzefa M. Patel, R. Jesuraj, G. Vignesh, T. Devendran, R. Srinivasan, R. Pandiarajan, T. Siddartha, K.B. Arun Karthick. N. Rajeev (Coach).

Recommended for you