BSNL downs India Youth

Special Correspondent

NEW DELHI: Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited, Chennai, defeated India Youth 102-82 in the 33rd all-India Master Prithvi Nath Sharma memorial basketball tournament at the Ajmal Khan Park here on Thursday.

While BSNL was able to take off from its half-time lead of 50-44, it had to endure a severe test from the youthful opponents especially in the second quarter. After having trailed 13-29 at the end of the first quarter, the India Youth team took the fight to BSNL and reduced the gap to one point at 41-42, thanks mainly to the fine work by Gurbhaj Singh who eventually top-scored with 36 points that included five three-pointers.

However, the Chennai team was able to assert itself with B. Saravana Raju and V. Janakirama Reddy sharing the bulk of the scoring. BSNL stretched the lead to 75-66 by the end of the third quarter, and accelerated nicely to the finish thereafter.

In its last league match, BSNL will be up against a young Punjab team that is without the services of its stalwarts who are busy preparing for the Police Games.

Skipper Anju Lakra was in her usual fluent form as she top-scored with 32 in guiding South East Central Railway to a 81-50 victory over India Youth in the women's section.

Delhi surprised Western Railway with a 68-61 margin on Wednesday evening, and could possibly be a force to reckon with in this edition.

The results: Men: BSNL, Chennai, 102 (B. Saravana Rajan 23, V. Janakirama Reddy 21, S. Siva Rajan 15, Delhi Raj 14, K. S. Balasubramanian 10) beat India Youth 82 (Gurbhaj Singh 36, Sukhbir Dhillon 17, Shravan Kumar 11, Frederik Pereira 10).

ONGC, Dehra Dun 72 (Murali Krishna 24, Suresh 14, Shabeer Ahamad 10, S. Sridhar 10) beat Punjab 63 (Talwinderjit Singh 19, Amit Prashar 14, Yadvender Singh 11).

Central Excise, Cochin 81 (Harish 21, Subhash K. Shenoy 20, Santosh John 19) beat Indian Army 60 (Subbiah 20, Phool Singh 18, Arockia Babu 10).

Women: South East Central Railway 81 (Anju Lakra 32, BhartiNetam 16, Bincy Philip 14) beat India Youth 50 (Sonam Deep Kaur 11).

Delhi 68 (L. S. Savitha 19, Shiba Maggon 14, DivyaSingh 12, Akanksha Singh 12 beat Western Railway 61 (Ivy Cherian 18, Siji Kurien 14, Shanti Saldanha 12).

Delhi Police draws with Hindustan

Delhi Police drew 1-1 with Hindustan Club in the SAIL-ONGC-DSA senior division football league at the Ambedkar Stadium here on Thursday. Mahesh Bisht was the marksman for Delhi Police, while Nitin Pant equalised for Hindustan.

On Wednesday, Simla Youngs defeated Indian National by a solitary goal scored by Ogbedeie Aminawon Austin.

Title for Salwan BS

Salwan Boys School won the Himalaya Chavanprasha Cup inter-school under-15 cricket tournament beating Ganga International School by 26 runs in a low-scoring final here on Thursday.

After being restricted to 156 for six in 40 overs, Salwan Boys bounced back to stop Ganga International School well below the target as Dilip Dhunna (two for 16), Rahul Bhardwaj (two for 27) and Shakti Chouhan (two for 28) took wickets at regular intervals.

The scores: Salwan Boys School 156 for six in 40 overs (Siddharth Sharma 56, Rahul Bhardwaj 27 not out, Parth Rana three for 11) bt Ganga International School 132 for nine in 40 overs (Digvijay Sehrawat 27, Karan Preet Singh 26).

Recommended for you