Arvind, Saina triumph

MUMBAI: Arvind Bhatt and Saina Nehwal overcame hiccups to win the singles titles in the USV-sponsored all-India badminton championships at the Juhu Vile Parle Gymkhana on Monday.

Top seed Bhatt beat third seed Nikhil Kanetkar 12-15, 15-6, 15-2 for the men's singles crown and Rs. 42,500 prize money in the Uday Pawar Badminton Academy organised event.

Saina, unseeded in the women's draw, overcame Shruti Kurien 11-3, 11-8 in the women's final and picked up Rs. 30,000.

The results: (finals): Men: 1-Arvind Bhatt (PSPB) bt 3-Nikhil Kanetkar (PSPB) 12-15, 15-6, 15-2.

Women: Saina Nehwal (AP) bt Shruti Kurien (PSPB) 11-3, 11-8. — Special Correspondent

Recommended for you