Aditya, Vaidehi corner glory

BANGALORE, OCT 11. The fifth edition of the JK Tyre National Karting championship was into its second round here at the Speed Zone track and a large crowd of enthusiasts witnessed some exciting races. There were a couple of close finishes as well as some winners by a huge margin making it an eventful evening on Sunday.

Despite being the final day of the first test match between India and Australia over 10,000 spectators thronged to one of the country's premier karting tracks.

In the seniors' section, the contestants had a lot at stake. The karters were vying for the two top spots, which would ensure their qualification for the all-India finals to be held at Delhi later this year and set them up for a chance to win the Opel Corsa car among a load of other prizes. The senior section was off to a false start after the rolling lap and with the karts being red flagged because of some dangerous driving, they were off to a second flag off.

Aditya Patel, the Chennai based youngster, steered his kart into an early lead and after that was never looked back. Rayomand Banajee, who had earlier won his event in the Rotax Max challenge series, had to be content with a third placed finish while Amitrajit Ghosh took the second spot.

In the ladies class, Vaidehi Kadur continued her domination winning the title for the third consecutive year. Keerthi Chinnappa finished second and newcomer Alisha Abdullah passed the chequered flag for a third place.

Probably the closest finish came in the Cadet class (8-12 years). Vishnu Prasad had to stave off a stiff challenge from Nikhil Kashyap and Parth Ghorpade.

Akhil Khushlani won the junior section (13-15 years). Akhil will now participate in the All India finals in his section at Delhi.

The event also had a Rotax Max challenge series, which saw some tremendously close finishes. The Nationals now move to Goa for the third round.

The results:

Ladies: 1. Vaidehi Kadur, 2. Keerthi Chinappa, 3. Alisha Abdullah.

Juniors (13-15 years): 1. Akhil Khushlani, 2. Akshay Patel, 3. Saran Vikram.

Cadet (8-12 years): 1. Vishnu Prasad, 2. Nikhil Kashyap, 3. Parth Ghorpade.

Senior (16 and above): 1. Aditya Patel, 2. Amitrajit Ghosh, 3. Rayomand Banajee.

Recommended for you