Zakir Hussain in final

NEW DELHI: Host Zakir Hussain College reached the final of the 20th Zakir Hussain memorial football tournament with a 3-2 victory over Indira Gandhi Institute of Physical Education and Sports Sciences (IGIPESS) at the Ambedkar Stadium here on Friday.

In an entertaining spell of 10 minutes in the first half, the two teams spanked five goals. Ashish Pandey, Yugal Kishore and Ankur Singh Bisht scored the goals for the host. Deepak Mehra and Praveen Lawrence scored for IGIPESS, but the team could not sustain the good work.

In the quarterfinals, Jamia Hamdard, Tughlaqabad, beat Zakir Hussain Evening College 5-1 while Moti Lal Nehru Evening College prevailed over Jamia Millia Islamia 3-1 thanks to a hat-trick by Mahender.

Recommended for you