Women at NCA

Bangalore: The Indian women’s cricket team probables assembled at the National Cricket Academy here for a week-long conditioning camp that commenced here on Saturday. The camp is a prelude to the forthcoming women’s World Cup in Australia.

On the camp’s opening day, the team’s fitness trainer Afzal Khan along with the academy’s strength and conditioning expert Paul Chapman tested the players strength and agility in which skipper Jhulan Goswami and Asha Rawat excelled.

“We are not as strong as other teams like England, Australia and New Zealand and with these latest tests we know where we stand and it is good for the players,” said Sudha Shah, the team’s coach.

The 14-member team will be selected from among the 30 probables later this month. India lost to Australia in the 2005 World Cup final and in the latest edition, will open its campaign against Pakistan at Bowral on March 7.

Phalgun, Monisha win

B.S. Phalgun and Monisha Vinayak emerged as the men’s and women’s singles champions respectively in the Wearhouse State ranking badminton championship which concluded here.

The results (all finals): Men: Singles: B.S. Phalgun bt Jagdish Yadav 20-22, 21-17, 21-11. Doubles: Guruprasad & Vineet Manuel bt Adarsh Kiran & Anup Kiran 21-13, 21-8.

Boys under-19: singles: Pratap Menon bt R.N. Suraj 21-15, 15-21, 23-21. Doubles: Pratap & Suraj bt Rajas Jawalkar & Y. Abhishek 21-11, 21-15.

Veteran men: singles: Vinay Siddaraj bt K.P. Vasanth Kumar 15-21, 21-17, 21-17. Doubles: Kedarnath & Vinay Siddaraj bt K.P. Vasanth Kumar & Jayaram Pai 22-20, 21-15.

Women: singles: Monisha Vinayak bt Saumya Padhye 21-10, 21-13. Doubles: Saumya & G.M. Nischitha bt Adfa Taqvi & Monisha 21-11, 21-14.

Veteran women: singles: Elsa Tommy bt Nagamma 21-12, 21-8. Doubles: Elsa & C.M. Kaveri bt Nagamma & Sujatha 13-21, 21-11, 21-13.

Veterans’ football

Teams from Chennai, Ooty, Puducherry, and other places will figure in the South Zone veterans football invitation tournament to be held at the Dr. B.R. Ambedkar football stadium, Murphy Town (Bangalore) on January 25 and 26. The teams have been divided into two groups and will play on a knock-out basis.

Recommended for you