WR dethrones SCR

NEW DELHI: Arjun Goutham and Aditya Madkekar helped Western Railway dethrone defending champion South Central Railway in the final of the 54th all-India inter-Railways tennis championship at the DLTA Complex here on Monday.

While Arjun proved too good for Vishnu Vardhan, Aditya Madkekar, recovering from a bout of illness, had to endure a three-setter against P.C. Vignesh before clinching the issue for Western Railway.

In the individual event, former national champion Nitten Kirrtane reached the semifinals with a 9-4 victory over Uday Kumar Reddy.

The results: Team championship (final): Western Railway beat South Central Railway 2-0 (Arjun Goutham bt J. Vishnu Vardhan 6-2, 6-3; Aditya Madkekar bt P. C. Vignesh 6-3, 2-6, 6-4).

Third place: Eastern Railway beat North East Frontier Railway 2-0 (Manoj Kumar Sewa bt Manoj Chauhan 6-0, 3-1 (retired), Vinod Sewa bt Ranjit Dutta 6-3, 6-1).

Recommended for you