Tvm meets Thrissur in final

THALASSERY: Thiruvananthapuram scored a 6-5 win over SAI (Kollam) via the tie-breaker and entered the final of the State senior men’s hockey championship at the Municipal stadium here on Sunday.

In the final to be played on Monday, Thiruvananthapuram will take on Thrissur which too was forced to the distance by host Kannur.

Thrissur won the second semifinal 5-4 via sudden-death after the two teams were level at the end of the regular period and tie-breaker.

Rajeev was the hero for the Thrissur side scoring once each in the tie-breaker and the sudden-death.

In the tie-breaker, besides Rajeev the other goal-scorers for Thrissur were Vinod, Deepak and Sijimon while Jaison, Vijith, Akhilash and C. Binod converted for Kannur.

However, Binod failed to convert for Kannur in the sudden-death.

Earlier, Thiruvananthapuram was in the lead twice through Aneesh (first minute) and Veeramony (47th) before Vineeth Manuel (19th and 65th) helped SAI (Kollam) draw level.

In the tie-breaker, Veeramony, Sarath, Aneesh and Praveen Kumar scored to help Thiruvananthapuram through to the final while only Shamsudeen, Vineeth Manuel and Kiran Kumar could convert for the Kollam outfit. — Special Correspondent

Recommended for you