Three tons light up day's play

R. Sathish's sixth successive century for Jolly Rovers and Anand Subramanian and Y. Gnaneswara Rao's contrasting hundreds for Globe Trotters were the highlights of the first day of the sixth round of the TNCA first-division cricket league.

Sathish, playing his first match of the season, seemed to continue from where he finished last season to make 106 (185b, 17x4). His partnership of 156 for the third wicket with N. Einstein (57) helped Rovers recover from 25 for two. But Vijay claimed three wickets to even the scales, as Rovers finished on 246 for five.

Anand Subramanian (119, 229b, 9x4, 1x6) and Y. Gnaneswara Rao (143, 147b, 16x4, 2x6) added 236 for Trotters' third wicket to prolong Alwarpet's leather hunt. S. Aniruda (91, 103b, 10x4, 2x6) and X. Thalaivan Sargunam (47) had earlier put on 99 for the first wicket in just 13.5 overs. Alwarpet, having inserted Trotters, managed only four wickets for the 447 runs it conceded.

M. Kaushik Gandhi (57) and K. Shree Vasudeva Das (60) made runs for Grand Slam, but IOB kept last season's runner-up in check at RKM-Vivekananda, with Grand Slam finishing on 237 for five.

I.T. Thabaarak Baik (55) and Ganapathy Chandrasekhar (56 batting) rescued India Pistons, struggling on 54 for five, by raising 105 for the sixth wicket before being separated. Left-arm spinner M. Suresh Babu led Young Stars' strong bowling effort with three wickets.

In another match, Aruna took control against Falcon thanks to seamer M. Shyamsundar's four-wicket haul.

The scores (round six, day one):

At SRMC: India Pistons 183 for six in 90 overs (I.T. Thabaarak Baik 55, Ganapathy Chandrasekhar 56 batting) vs. Young Stars.

At RKM-Vivekananda: Grand Slam 237 for five in 90 overs (M. Kaushik Gandhi 57, K. Shree Vasudeva Das 60) vs. IOB.

At MAC: Falcon 128 in 50.4 overs (M. Shyamsundar four for 41) vs. Aruna 72 for one in 37 overs (Jesubabu Honeymen 42 batting).

At IC-Guru Nanak: Jolly Rovers 246 for five in 89.1 overs (N. Einstein 57, R. Sathish 106) vs. Vijay.

At Murugappa: Parry's 166 for nine in 90 overs (S. Dinesh Kumar 69 batting) vs. Indian Bank.

At MRF-Pachaiyappa's: Globe Trotters 427 for four in 90 overs (X. Thalaivan Sargunam 47, S. Aniruda 91, Anand Subramanian 119, Y. Gnaneswara Rao 143) vs. Alwarpet .

10-wicket win

Affan Khader's four wickets helped St. Bede's ‘A' register a 10-wicket win over Zion MHSS in the TNCA city schools tournament for the C. Ramaswamy Trophy here on Thursday.

The scores: Zion 89 for nine in 30 overs (Affan Khader four for 12) lost to St. Bede's ‘A' 92 for no loss in 8.4 overs (Mohd. Mustafa Sarosh 43 n.o., R. Aravind Raj 45 n.o.).

Nellai Nadar 72 in 27.2 overs (V. Chokalingam three for 3, R. Alexander three for 13) lost to Government ‘A' 73 for one in 13.5 overs.

Santhome ‘A' 120 in 29.4 overs (B. Sai Rupesh 30, S. Arvind Mahadevan three for 15) lost to PS SSS 124 for five in 29.4 overs (M.S. Suraj 49, T. Siva Prakash 30)

Hindu (Indira Nagar) 110 for nine in 30 overs (R.M. Hareesh three for 11) lost to SBOA 111 for seven in 28.3 overs (Vigensh Bala three for 36, C.H. Krishnan three for 17).

Recommended for you