Tareef scores winner

BANGALORE: Tareef Ahmed struck the all important goal to give ONGC full points against Gas Authority of India Limited (GAIL) in the PSPB inter-Unit football tournament being organised by ONGC here.

In other matches, CPCL downed NRL by an odd goal in three, while OIL blanked IOC (AOD) 3-0 (Bhupen Gogoi (2), Jayanta Basumatha).

V. Thirunavakarasu and Thennarasu were the goal-getters for CPCL, while Rajnikanta Bora netted NRL’s consolation goal.

SBMJC in final

Host Shree Bhagawan Mahaveer Jain College (SBMJC) defeated St. Joseph’s Engineering College 2-0 in a Vie sports fest badminton semifinal in Bangalore on Tuesday.

The results: Badminton: Semifinals: SBMJC bt St. Joseph’s Engineering College 2-0; Surana College bt KSR College 2-1.

Basketball: MOP Vaishnav bt VIT Vellore 35-20; SBMJC ‘A’ bt Christ College 51-10; SRM College bt Mount Carmel 62-38; Jeppiar EC bt JNC 55-39.

Hockey: Semifinals: Surana bt Al-Ameen 2-1; St. Joseph’s bt SBMJC ‘A’ 2-1.

South Zone posts win

South Zone, spearheaded by international Jagdeesh and T.G. Shankar, defeated East Zone 25-20, 25-20 in the 13th DGQA inter-zone volleyball tournament at the CQAL playground in Bangalore on Tuesday.

Five teams — North, East, West, Central and South — are in the fray.

In another match, North beat West 25-10, 25-12.

Bedra Cricketers in final

Bedra Cricketers (Moodbidri) entered the final of the KSCA Mangalore Zone third division cricket tournament at Mangalore on Tuesday by defeating Nitte Education Trust (Nitte) by three wickets in the second semifinal.

It will take on Ullal Cricket Academy (Ullal) in the final on January 21.

The scores: Nitte Education Trust 174 in 38.2 overs (Melwyn 68) lost to Bedra Cricketers 175 for seven in 28.4 overs (Aneez 44).

City Cricketers in title round

City Cricketers (Mangalore) entered the final of the KSCA Mangalore zone second division cricket tournament on Monday defeating Attackers SC (Suratkal) by 129 runs here.

The scores: City Cricketers 284 for eight in 42 overs (Riyaz Ahmad 107, Sunil Rao 48) bt Attackers SC 155 in 28.1 overs (Farooq 61, Mohd. Thaha five for 33).