Sports Ministry releases special cash awards

NEW DELHI: The Union Sports Ministry on Tuesday released Rs. 49.05 lakh as special cash award to 19 boxers and 21 coaches.

The cash prize was given for winning medals in the Commonwealth, Asian, Asian junior and World cadet championships during 2007.

Among the prominent boxers, Vijender Singh was given Rs. two lakh for winning a silver medal in the Asian boxing championship while Akhil Kumar and Jitender Kumar were awarded Rs. 1.5 lakh each for their bronze medals in the same event.

The award winners:

Sportspersons: Sunil (Rs. 4 lakh), Rakesh Kalaskar (Rs. 2.8 lakh), Santosh Singh Soubam (Rs. 2.1 lakh), Manjeet Singh (Rs. 2.1 lakh), Praveen Kumar (Rs. 2.1 lakh), Pramoj Kumar (Rs. 2.1 lakh), Vijender Singh (Rs. 2 lakh), Nanao Singh (Rs. 2 lakh), Amandeep (Rs. 1.5 lakh), Jitender Kumar (Rs. 1.5 lakh), Akhil Kumar (Rs. 1.5 lakh), Manoj Kumar (Rs. 1.5 lakh), Dilbag Singh (Rs. 1.5 lakh), Ajay Kumar (Rs. 1.5 lakh), Baljeet (Rs. 1.5 lakh), Vikas Yadav (Rs. 1 lakh), Vipin Kumar (Rs. 1 lakh), Umesh Yadav (Rs. 80,000) and Sandeep Malik (Rs. 60,000).

Coaches: Jagdish Singh (Rs. 2.55 lakh), G. Manoharan (Rs. 1.5 lakh), Manoj Limbu (Rs. 1.5 lakh), B.B. Mohanty (Rs. 1.4 lakh), Jaydev Bisht (Rs. 1 lakh), Raj Kumar (Rs. 75,000), D. Dhananjayan (Rs. 75,000), S.I. Sikilkar (Rs. 75,000), Shiv Singh (Rs. 75,000), Ajmer Singh (Rs. 75,000), A. Kamesh (Rs. 75,000), M. Senthil (Rs. 75,000), Neelaish (Rs. 75,000), Anil Malik (Rs. 75,000), M.S. Dhaka (Rs. 50,000), Narender Bisht (Rs. 40,000), A.K. Sharma (Rs. 30,000), Bhupender (Rs. 30,000), O.B. Singh (Rs. 30,000), Harjender Singh (Rs. 25,000) and Jasvant Singh (Rs. 25,000). — Sports Reporter

Recommended for you