South Zone wins title

BANGALORE: South Zone dominated the two-day National inter-zonal taekwondo championship, which concluded at Dharwad on Sunday.

South topped with 100 points, winning the men’s team title with 47 points and women’s with 53 points. Central finished a distant second with 38 points.

Central Zone, however, emerged as the champion in junior category with 58 points while West Zone finished second with 54 points.

The results (winners only): Men: Under 58 kg: Suraj Prasad (West). Under-68kg: N.M. Balakrishna (SZ). U-74 kg: Saroj Gurung (SZ). U-80 kg: Ashutosh Kumar Ray (CZ). 87 kg: Jaswant (WZ). Over 87 kg: G. Veerabasavaiah (SZ).

Women: U-49 kg: Pooja Bhalekar (WZ). U-53 kg: Nanocha Devi (SZ). U-57 kg: V. Shantabala Devi (SZ). U-62 kg: Rekha Devi (SZ). U-67 kg: Lilybala Chanu (SZ). U-73 kg: N. Ranibala (EZ). Over-73 kg: K. Srilakshmi (SZ).

Junior boys: U-48kg: Prince Kumar (CZ). U-55 kg: Anil Yadav (WZ). U-63 kg: Bhikan Basumatary (EZ). U-73 kg: Rohan Kumar (NZ). Over-73 kg: Manjit Kumar (CZ). Junior girls: U-44 kg: Priti Kumar (CZ). U-49 kg: Sarju Devi (EZ). U-55 kg: Wangoleima (EZ). U-63 kg: S. Anjali (WZ). U 68 kg: Bhavana Kumaran (SZ).

Football tournament

The Bangalore District Football Association (BDFA) will be organising the Jagadishwarachar Memorial football tournament for ‘B’ division teams at the football stadium (Bangalore) from January 28. Eleven teams are in the fray.

Inter-corporate basketball

An inter-corporate basketball tournament will be conducted by Avre Inc at the Sree Kanteerava stadium courts (Bangalore) on Jan. 30 and 31.

Further details can be had from Sudarshan at 98860 26019 or Paresh at 990240 0309.

Recommended for you