Shrinivas stars in India Pistons’s big win

CHENNAI: Seamer M.R. Shrinivas claimed six wickets, finishing with match figures of nine for 46, to help India Pistons defeat Alwarpet by an innings and 54 runs on the second day of a sixth-round TNCA first-division league cricket match at CPT-IP.

Shrinivas’s performance was preceded by R. Srinivasan’s unconquered 87 (193b, 12x4, 2x6), which along with Ganapathy Chandrasekhar’s 43 provided Pistons a 152-run first-innings lead. Garry Dumenil took six wickets and wicketkeeper R. Rohit collected five catches, but Alwarpet couldn’t capitalise on these efforts, falling for 98 in the second innings.

Crucial lead

Jolly Rovers managed a crucial nine-run first-innings lead against Grand Slam at IIT-Chemplast. Leg-spinner Piyush Chawla and seamer Tinu Yohanan — both of whom have represented India — shared seven wickets. K.B. Arun Karthick top-scored with 74 (113b, 10x4) in Grand Slam’s 252.

Indian Bank strengthened its hold over Southern Railway Institute in another match, progressing from its overnight score of 307 to four to 468 for nine before declaring its innings. E. Suresh made a 201-ball 103 (5x4, 4x6), adding 143 for the fifth wicket with S. Dinesh Kumar (86, 147b, 7x4, 1x6).

Indian Bank then reduced the Southern Railway Institute reply to 118 for five. T. Dushyanth scored 54 (146b, 10x4).

Shravan bags six wkts.

At ICL-Guru Nanak, Vijay built a 250-run first-innings lead against UFCC (T. Nagar). N. Einstein registered his second century of the season, making 119 (208b, 16x4, 1x6) and putting on 132 for the fourth wicket with K. Shree Vasudeva Das, who struck 13 fours in his 167-ball 93. UFCC leg-spinner Shravan Krishnan returned figures of six for 117, including a burst of three wickets in 2.3 overs.

Young Stars gained the first-innings lead at Pachaiyappa’s ‘A’ thanks to a 55-ball 46 (8x4, 1x6) from number-six batsman T. Karunamurthy.

Young Stars, replying to Globe Trotters’s 195, profited from a 122-run second-wicket stand between R. Prashant (77, 153b, 9x4, 1x6) and M. Srinivasan (36), but slumped to 128 for four. Karunamurthy took Young Stars past Trotters before S.R. Ganesh Kumar chipped in with 40.

At Murugappa, Ra. Aravind (96, 223b, 12x4) and Kumar Anand 81 (208b, 8x4) had a 167-run alliance, enabling Parry’s accumulate 350 for nine in 122 overs in response to Aruna’s 149. S. Prabhu contributed a half-century.

The scores: Aruna 149 vs. Parry’s 350 for nine in 122 overs (Ra. Aravind 96, Kumar Anand 81, S. Prabhu 63), at Murugappa.

Indian Bank 468 for nine decl. in 122 overs (P. Satish 93, S. Karthik 42, E. Suresh 103, S. Dinesh Kumar 86, D. Mohsin Basha 47) vs. Southern Railway Institute 118 for five in 58 overs (T. Dushyanth 54), at Southern Railway ground.

UFCC (T. Nagar) 124 and 0 for no loss in two overs vs. Vijay 374 in 123.4 overs (K. Shree Vasudeva Das 93, N. Einstein 119, Shravan Krishnan six for 117), at ICL-Guru Nanak.

Jolly Rovers 261 and 56 for one in 12 overs vs. Grand Slam 252 in 77.5 overs (K.B. Arun Karthick 74, Piyush Chawla four for 55), at IIT-Chemplast.

Globe Trotters 195 and 31 for two in 19 overs vs. Young Stars 244 in 83 overs (R. Prashanth 77, T. Karunamurthy 46, S.R. Ganesh Kumar 40, S. Senthilkumar four for 62), at Pachaiyappa’s ‘A’.

Alwarpet 68 and 98 in 57.3 overs (M.O. Arjun Sarathy 40, M.R. Shrinivas six for 31) lost to India Pistons 220 in 84 overs (R. Srinivasan 87 n.o., Ganapathy Chandrasekhar 43, Garry Dumenil six for 69), at CPT-IP. Points: IP 8, Alwarpet 0.

Nareshkumar shines

PS HSS’s U. Nareshkumar claimed four wickets for 16 runs to take his side to a five-wicket win over Sri Sankara, in the P.C. Sekhar memorial under-14 cricket tournament here.

In another match, B. Nilesh scored an unbeaten 55 to help Montfort Academy defeat PS MHSS by nine wickets.

Earlier, the tournament was inaugurated by Test cricketer Piyush Chawla.

The scores: Sri Sankara SSS 118 in 27.2 overs (V. Aditya 44, U. Nareshkumar four for 16) lost to PS HSS 120 for five in 23 overs (A. Naresh Kumar 31 n.o., B. Sivakumar four for 25).

PS MHSS 83 in 18.1 overs (P. Srinivasan three for eight, M. Shyam three for 15) lost to Montfort Academy 86 for one in 10.2 overs (B. Nilesh 55 n.o.).

Twenty20 cricket

The second edition of the inter-collegiate Twenty20 cricket tournament for the Mohanmulji Chordia Gold Cup, conducted by A.M. Jain College, will be held from January 29 to February 6 at the College grounds. As many as 24 colleges will be in the fray.

Former Test cricketer and current coach of the Tamil Nadu team, W.V. Raman, will inaugurate the tournament.

Recommended for you