Punjab, Chhattisgarh get top billing

NEW DELHI: Defending champions Punjab boys and Chhattisgarh girls have been given the pride of place in group ‘A’ in the 35th National sub-junior basketball championship to be played in Kapurthala from June 15 to 21.

The tournament will feature 94 matches including nine in the knock-out stage.

The groupings: Boys: Group ‘A’: Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Uttaranchal; Group ‘B’: Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Jharkhand, Tripura; Group ‘C’: Rajasthan, Gujarat, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu; Group ‘D’: Madhya Pradesh, Chandigarh, Kerala, Puducherry; Group ‘E’: Uttar Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra, Orissa; Group ‘F’: West Bengal, Delhi, Manipur, Mizoram.

Girls: Group ‘A’: Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh; Group ‘B’: Uttar Pradesh, Delhi, Jammu and Kashmir; Group ‘C’: Haryana, Chandigarh, Karnataka; Group ‘D’: Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Manipur, West Bengal; Group ‘E’: Punjab, Madhya Pradesh, Puducherry, Uttaranchal; Group ‘F’: Jharkhand, Kerala, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu. — Principal Correspondent