Pradeep replaces Arjun

Sports Reporter

VIJAYAWADA: Middle-order batsman A.G. Pradeep will replace S. Arjun in the Andhra Ranji team for the Super League match against Orissa to be played at Cuttack from November 23 to 26, according to Andhra Cricket Association secretary, V. Chamundeswaranth, here on Monday.

Elahi, Harika triumph

Prakasam’s K. Elahi and Vizag’s M.S. Harika clinched the junior boys’ and girls’ titles defeating A. Rajendra (Prakasam) and L. Sandhya (Guntur) respectively in the 36th Andhra junior and youth carrom championship which concluded at the L.V. R & Sons Club at Guntur on Monday.

Guntur’s Sk. Karimullah and Priyanka won the youth titles, while Prakasam bagged the junior boys’ team championship beating Guntur 2-1 in the final.

Deputy Mayor, T. Murali Mohan, gave away the prizes.

The results (all finals):

Junior boys: Sk. Elahi (Prakasam) bt A. Rajendra (Prakasam) 25-11, 25-6.

Junior girls: M.S. Harika (Viz) bt L. Sandhya (Guntur) 25-7, 25-11.

Youth boys: Sk. Karimullah (Guntur) bt V. Raghava (Guntur) 25-1, 25-5.

Youth girls: Priyanka (Nellore) bt Srilakshmi (Guntur): 25-0-24-9.

Team championship (junior boys): Prakasam bt Guntur 2-1.

ANC is champion

Andhra Loyola College, with six points, emerged champion in the Acharya Nagarjuna University inter-collegiate football tournament held at the S.V.K.P. College at Markapur from November 16 to 18.

ALC defeated Noble College (3-1), Sarada College (5-0) and Government Degree College (Ulavapadu) to take the title.

Flora, Chaitanya PS win

Vuyyuru’s Flora Public School and Gudivada’s Chaitanya Public School registered victories in the Krishna District Cricket Association’s schools league tournament, for the Sri Nori Sivaramakrishna memorial Trophy, here on Monday.

The scores:

Noble Kids HS 43 in 20 overs (Avinash four for five, Srikanth three for 15) lost to Flora PS 44 for three in six overs (Naren three for 20).

Sri Karthikeya HS 47 in 18.4 overs (Satyanarayana Reddy three for five) lost to Chaitanya PS 48 for four in 15.4 overs.

Inter-collegiate TT

The Acharya Nagarjuna University inter-collegiate table tennis (men and women) tournament-cum-selection trial will be held at the Koneru Lakshmaiah College of Engineering on November 21 and 22.

The managers of the participating teams should report to the organising secretary with the eligibility forms (in triplicate) and identity cards on November 21 at 8.30 a.m., according to Dr. L.S.S. Reddy, chairman of the tournament committee.

Recommended for you