Parry's-Aruna match tantalisingly poised

Nineteen wickets fell on day two of the TNCA first division league match between Parry's and Aruna CC at Murugappa here on Wednesday, which ended with Parry's needing 18 runs for victory with one wicket in hand.

Starting the day on 82 for four in reply to Aruna's first innings score of 161, Parry's was bowled out for 153, with leg spinner M.P. Rajesh taking five for 45.

Aruna's second innings lasted only 35 overs and totalled just 95, with off spinner N. Raghavendran scalping seven for 39 to go with his first-innings eight-for.

Chasing 104 for victory, Parry's was 86 for nine at close of play.

Grand Slam achieved a first-innings lead of 70 over Falcon CC at RKM-Viveka, and extended the lead to 167 by close of play, with four wickets in hand.

Young Stars gained the first-innings lead over Globe Trotters at SRMC, thanks to V. Subramania Siva's first century (131, 176b, 17x4, 4x6) of the season.

Off-spinner S. Anirudha captured five for 28.

Vijay CC, meanwhile, was on course to go past Alwarpet's first innings score of 338, ending the day 82 behind with seven wickets in hand.

Opener K.B. Arun Karthik scored 118 (170b, 13x4, 2x6) and put on 186 for the first wicket with Anirudh Kasthuri, who made 82 (165b, 12x4).

Earlier, seamer J. Kaushik took five for 54, his second five-for of the season, to ensure that Alwarpet's first innings was nipped early in the day, with the addition of just 28 to its overnight 310 for seven. Kaushik's 26 wickets is the highest tally among medium-pacers so far this season.

At MAC, Indian Bank, 246 for two overnight, posted 441 against IOB. Skipper Vijay Shankar (148, 291b, 13x4, 1x5, 1x6) and B. Aparajith (89, 229b, 4x4) extended their third wicket stand from its overnight 164 to 205. Vijay Shankar crossed the 500-run mark for the season.

Jolly Rovers left-arm spinner A.V. Streejan took his maiden first division five-for, in his first game of the season, as India Pistons, on 288 for six overnight, was dismissed for 346.

First-day centurion I.T. Thabarak Baik remained unbeaten on 170 (310b, 19x4, 3x6). In reply, Jolly Rovers ended the day 130 behind with five wickets remaining.

The scores (round seven, day two): At Murugappa: Aruna 161 and 95 in 35 overs (N. Raghavendran seven for 39) vs. Parry's 153 in 55.5 overs (M.P. Rajesh five for 45) and 86 for nine in 34 overs.

At RKM-Viveka: Grand Slam 240 and 97 for six in 31 overs vs. Falcon CC 170 in 60.5 overs (M.K. Shiva Kumar 48, S. Suresh Kumar four for 54, V. Arun Kumar five for 68).

At SRMC: Globe Trotters 243 and 65 for no loss in 12 overs vs. Young Stars 276 in 86.5 overs (V. Subramania Siva 131, Wilkins Victor 73, S. Anirudha five for 28).

At IC-Guru Nanak: Alwarpet CC 338 in 105.2 overs (B. Vijay Rahul 48, J. Hariesh 60, S. Vasanth Saravanan 68 not out, J. Kaushik five for 54) vs. Vijay CC 256 for three in 72 overs (K.B. Arun Karthik 118, Anirudh Kasturi 82).

At MAC: Indian Bank 441 in 150.3 overs (Vijay Shankar 148, B. Aparajith 89, E. Suresh 44, P. Satish 48, Rohan Prem four for 64) vs. IOB 89 for one in 29 overs.

At CPT-IP: India Pistons 346 in 120.3 overs (I.T. Thabarak Baik 170 not out, V. Devendran 46, M. Prabhu 41, A.V. Streejan five for 71) vs. Jolly Rovers 216 for five in 60 overs (M. Vijay 49, R. Sathish 53) .

Big win for Kancheepuram

Kancheepuram defeated Kanyakumari by 162 runs in a match of the TNCA inter-District under-19 tournament held at Thanjavur, thanks in main to S. Aswath's four-wicket haul and S. Omesh's half-century.

The scores: Kancheepuram 217 in 50 overs (T. Balaji 34, S. Omesh 58, V.R. Justin Valsan four for 54) bt Kanyakumari 55 in 26.2 overs (S. Aswath four for 20) .


well placed

Half-centuries by Swaminathan, Santhosh Shiv and R. Hariharan lifted Kancheepuram to 307 for eight on day one of the TNCA inter-district under-14 match against Krishnagiri at Hosur.

The scores: Kancheepuram 307 for eight in 90 overs (S. Swaminathan 57, S. Santhosh Shiv 63, R. Hariharan 70, R. Sundar 33, Akshay Bharathwaj three for 70) vs. Krishnagiri .

First Flight triumphs

First Flight defeated Toplin by 32 runs in the final of the SMCA annual league tournament held here.

The scores: First Flight 224 for eight in 30 overs (T. Dhanasekar 64, Lakshmikumar 74, Santhamurthy three for 45) bt Toplin 192 for six in 30 overs (Kumara Guru 33, Deiva Guru 75, Omesh 33 n.o.) .

Recommended for you