Orissa scores second win

Orissa beat Tripura while Jharkhand beat Assam Decent knock from Dhoni (34), at last

KOLKATA: Orissa registered its second successive victory defeating Tripura by a whooping 42-run margin while Jharkhand tasted its first win over Assam by eight wickets in the East Zone Twenty20 tournament at the Eden Gardens here on Thursday.

The match between Bengal and Orissa (both on eight points from two games) on Saturday after a day of rest should decide the two qualifiers and their positions. In the last set of matches on Sunday, Orissa would play a demoralised Assam team while Bengal would clash with Tripura.

Put into bat, Orissa lost three wickets for 59 before P. Jayachandra and Rashmi Ranjan Das hit the Tripura bowlers around the park to score 41 runs each and to take the team to a challenging total of 140 for six in 20 overs. In reply, Tripura was dismissed for 98 in 17.3 overs.

A heroic 65 off 42 balls by Indian under-19 star Parvez Aziz and a workman like 36 off 40 balls by opener Nishanta Bordoli enabled Assam to run up 141 for nine in 20 overs. Another India under-19 player Shahbaz Nadim picked up three for 20 with his left-arm spin. The total, however, did not prove too stiff for Jharkhand whose star Mahendra Singh Dhoni and opener Manish Vardhan remained unbeaten on 37 and 64 respectively.

The scores: Orissa 140 for six in 20 overs (P. Jayachandra 41, R.R. Das 41) bt Tripura 98 in 17.3 overs (N. Behera three for 11, P. Patel four for 11).

Assam 141 for nine in 20 overs (N. Bordoli 36, P. Aziz 65, S. Nadim three for 20) lost to Jharkhand 142 for two in 17.1 overs (M. Vardhan 64 n.o., M.S. Dhoni 37 n.o.). Special Correspondent