Nipun-Vasudev pair moves up

Nipun Bajaj and Vasudev Vijayraman made it to the boys' doubles semifinals of the India Pistons junior tennis tournament defeating Akshay Sivakumar and Manav Subramanian 6-0, 6-2 here on Thursday.

Other results (Doubles, quarterfinals): V. Viknesh & P.R. Suriyan bt Harish Babu & Raj Bharat 6-4, 6-1; T. Vignesh & Akash Balachander bt Manaz & R.S. Mohit 6-3, 6-2; S. Soorya & Sammud Sharma bt V. Vivek & V. Vinoth 6-4, 6-2 .

Thumping win

PSBB (Nungambakam) thrashed DAV (Gopalapuram) 4-0 in a match of the Prabha Jaidev Memorial football tournament in Mogappair here on Thursday.

The results:

St. Michael's (Adyar) 3 bt DAV BHEL (Ranipet) 0, Doveton bt Bhavan's Rajaji Vidyashram (Kilpauk) 4-3 (on penalties), Don Bosco (Perambur) 2 bt Chinmaya Vidyalaya (Anna Nagar) 0, PSBB (Nungambakkam) 4 bt DAV (Gopalapuram) 0, SBOA (Anna Nagar) 1 bt DAV (Anna Nagar) 0, Wesley (Royapettah) 2 bt Lalaji Memorial 0.

AG (TN) ‘A' in final

AG (Tamil Nadu) ‘A' entered the final of the Indian Audit and Accounts (South Zone) carrom tournament with a 3-0 win over AG (Karnataka) on Thursday. The host will meet AG (Andhra Pradesh) ‘B' in the title clash on Friday. Earlier, S. Prabhu (IAAS), Principal Director, Regional Training Institute, inaugurated the tournament.

The results (semifinals): AG (TN) ‘A' bt AG (KAR) 3-0, AG (AP) ‘A' bt AG (TN) ‘B' 3-0 .

Loyola wins

Loyola College's chess team won the Madras University ‘A' Zone trophy tournament here recently with a total of 21.5 points.

Ten colleges participated in the tournament. This was Loyola's second successive triumph in the event. Its team had also won the Madras inter-zonal Trophy organised by SRM College in Kattangalathur recently.

Badminton tourney

The Tiruvallur District junior badminton championship for the under-13, 16 and 19 age groups will be held on Aug. 12 and 13 at the Kamalam John Samuel indoor stadium, Ambattur. For details contact Vijay Dayanidhi (ph: 99415 02811).

Recommended for you