National tenpin bowling from tomorrow

Sports Reporter

Chennai: The second National tenpin bowling championships, being hosted by the Tamil Nadu Tenpin Bowling Association under the auspices of the Tenpin Bowling Federation (India), will take place at Mayajaal, here from October 13 to 19.

The top-two teams at the end of the event will participate in the Asian inter-City championships which will take place at Macau, China, from December 1 to 7.

There will be seven medal events in the championship, with a total of 10 teams participating, including defending champion Karnataka and runner-up Tamil Nadu.

Karti P. Chidambaram, President, Tenpin Bowling Federation (India), while addressing a press conference on Saturday, said that performances in the event would be considered to select the Indian team for the AMF World Cup to be held in Mexico from November 7 to 14 and the Commonwealth tenpin bowling championships to take place at Belfast from November 23 to 29.

“The only way to raise standards is by providing our bowlers with constant international exposure,” he said on Saturday.

The championships will take place in the women’s and men’s doubles, mixed doubles, mixed trios and the mixed team of five categories, with medals awarded in the men’s and women’s ‘All Events’ categories as well.

“The total pinfall of each team will be calculated to award medals for the top three teams,” said R. Kannan, Secretary General, Tenpin Bowling Federation.

Some of the prominent names that will feature include five-time National champion Sabeena Saleem of Tamil Nadu, National men’s champion Vijay Punjabi of Karnataka, women’s champion Sumathi Nallabantu of Andhra Pradesh, former National champions H.V. Sarda of Delhi, S.A. Hameed of Delhi and P. Srinath of Karnataka, and TN’s Rahul Jain, Raj Mohan and Dinesh Kumar.

Recommended for you