NIT, Warangal wins title

TIRUCHI: The National Institute of Technology (NIT), Warangal defeated Visvesvaraya NIT, Nagpur by five wickets to win the title in the inter-NIT cricket tournament here recently.

The scores: Final: Visvesvaraya NIT, Nagpur, 126 for six in 20 overs (Bhanu Sharm 54) lost to NIT, Warangal, 128 for five in 17.3 overs. Third place: NIT, Rourkela, 92 for one in 12 overs lost to NIT, Tiruchi, 93 for two in 10.3 overs (A. Vignesh Naga 44 not out).

Venesh Kumar sparkles

M. Venesh Kumar scalped six wickets as Yuvaraj CC defeated All Rounders CC by 71 runs in a Dindigul DCA second division league cricket match in Dindigul.

The results: Second division: Yuvaraj CC 138 in 18.1 overs bt All Rounders CC 67 in 16.5 overs (M. Venesh Kumar six for 19, M. Senthil Velavan four for 18). Third division: Jahir Promising XI 112 in 21 overs lost to Challengers CC 113 for six in 20 overs.

Cricket tournament

Thirty teams will participate in the ICL Mahaveer Chand Memorial Trophy inter-district under-14 cricket tournament at Tirunelveli. The tournament will be held from December 25 to 30 at the ICL grounds, Sankar Nagar, Tirunelveli.