Motor : Aditya, Gaurav hog limelight

CHENNAI: Chennai’s Aditya Patel and Gaurav Dalal shared the honours in the premium Formula Rolon category at the end of the qualifying phase in the JK Tyre National racing championship at the Madras Motor Race Track at Irungattukkottai, near here, on Saturday.

Aditya (Team NK Racing) and Gaurav (Team Amaron WSRF) clocked the fastest timings, the former in race 1 and the latter in the second race, to take the pole positions for Sunday’s races.

Ajay Kini (Team WSRF) will start third in race 1 and Rayomand Banajee will begin in that slot in race 2.

Karthik, Saran shine

In the Formula Hyundai and Formula Swift classes, Karthik Shankar and Saran Vikram hogged the limelight.

Missing in action was the Sri Lankan squad which has skipped this round. Karthik Shankar (Team WSRF with Leela) captured the pole positions in the Formula Hyundai category while in the Formula Swift section, Chennai lad Saran Vikram (Team WSFRF with Leela) achieved that in the two races.

Banajee and Anand Prasad (both Team Gemini) will start in that order in the two races in Formula Hyundai while Karthik and Ashwin Sunder (Rams Racing) will be the second and third racers in Formula Swift. — Special Correspondent

Recommended for you