Kerala probables for SZ one-dayers

KOCHI: The Kerala Cricket Association's list of probables for the forthcoming Ranji one-dayers caught many by surprise.

Just a few months ago, before the Ranji Trophy Plate League, the KCA had stressed that promotion of youngsters would be its primary goal this season.

But surprisingly, under-19 South Zone player Rajilal and Praveen Achuthan, who has been in fine nick this season, do not figure in the 22-member probables list for next month's South Zone one-day league series in Hyderabad and have just been confined to the reserves chart.

The list includes M.P. Sorab who has been mediocre this season and old guards M. Suresh Kumar and K. Chandrasekhara who were ignored for the Ranji Plate League. There are eight players from the Thiruvananthapuram-based State Bank of Travancore in the list.

"Tinu Yohanan (the former India fast bowler) has not been included as he is yet to recover from his leg injury," said the KCA secretary T.C. Mathew on Tuesday evening.

"The captain will also be announced later." Sreekumar Nair led Kerala in the Ranji Trophy four-dayers.

The camp begins in Palakkad on January 27 and the probables will play four one-day games. The final 15 will be announced on February 2. The South Zone one-day league begins on February 10.

The probables: S. Ramesh, Abhishek Hegde, Rohan Prem, S. Aneesh, Sreekumar Nair, K. Anilkumar, V.A. Jagadeesh, K. Chandrasekhara, S. Ramakrishna, M. Suresh Kumar, Prasanth Chandran, S. Suresh, Raiphy Vincent Gomes, Robert Fernandes, P. Prasanth, Sony Cheruvathur, Vinan G. Nair, P.V. Manikantan, C.M. Thejus, H. Syamjith, Santosh Karunakaran, M.P. Sorab.

Reserves: Rajilal, M.E. Sanath, Prasanth Parameswaran, Praveen Achuthan, Sambasiva Sharma, Sebastian Antony, C.P. Shahid. Principal Correspondent

Recommended for you