Karvade keeps lead

KOZHIKODE: Eesha Karvade maintained her sole lead at the end of the seventh round of the 35th National women’s ‘B’ chess championship here on Tuesday. She drew with Nisha Mohota in the morning and then with Mary Ann Gomes in the seventh round.

Nisha and Mary are among eight players in the joint second position with 5.5 points apiece. Aarthie Ramaswamy, Swati Ghate, Kruttika Nadig, Pon N. Krithika and the two girls representing host Kerala, Nimmy A. George and A. Niji, are the others. Four more rounds remain.

Important results (seventh round): Mary Ann Gomes 5.5 drew with Eeesha Karvade 6; Nisha Mohota 5.5 drew with Aarthie Ramaswamy 5.5; Nimmy George 5.5 drew with Swati Ghate 5.5; A. Niji 5.5 bt Padmini Rout 4.5; Kruttika Nadig 5.5 bt Amruta Mokal 4.5; Prathyusha Bodda 4.5 lost to Pon N. Krithika 5.5.; Saimeera Ravi 5 bt Baiskahi Das 4.5; Bhakti Kulkarni 5 bt K. Shruthi 4; Swati Mohota 4.5 drew with N. Raghavi 4.5; Mohana Priya 5 bt Ch. Divyasri; M.R. Sangeetha 4 lost to Alka Das 5; Pallabi Roy 4.5 drew with Shalmali Gagare 4.5; Anuprita Patil 5 bt Pushpalata Mangal 4; Nabeela Farheen 4 drew with Tinu Thomas 4; S.V. Sathyapriya S. Harini; R. Bharathi 4.5 bt Priya Sandhya 3.5; Devangi Patankar 4.5 bt Nandini 3.5.

Sixth round: Eesha drew with Nisha; Aarthie drew with Mary; Swati Ghate bt Bhakti; Nimmy bt Swati Mohota; Pon N. Krithika drew with Kruttika Nadig; Padmini bt Sangeetha; Raghavi drew with Saimeera; Alka drew with Preethi; Amruta bt Devangi; Supriya los toNiji; Divyasri drew with Pallabi; Harini lost to Prathyusha Bodda; Madhuri Patil drew with Anuprita Patil; Baisakhi bt P.K. Jayasree; Shalmali bt Sahajasri. — Principal Correspondent