Karnataka triumphs

Principal Correspondent

HYDERABAD: Karnataka retained the South Zone limited-overs cricket tournament for the K.S. Subbaiah Pillai Trophy in style, keeping its slate clean after a six-wicket win over Hyderabad in the final round-robin league match, at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium here on Friday.

The dismal show by the batsmen, with the exception of N. Arjun Yadav (56, 106b, 5x4, 1x6), saw Hyderabad bundled out for 189 in 50 overs.

No trouble

When Karnataka began its chase, it was never in any sort of bother. Barrington Rowland was impressive again and played some extravagant strokes on either side. The defending champion virtually dished out a lesson in the art of scoring.

Useful contributions from Bharat Chipli (45, 65b, 6x4, 1x6), Barrington (36, 44b, 6x4), Raghu (45, 68b, 6x4) and Deepak Chowgule (44 not out, 71b, 7x4) helped Karnataka romp home in the 45th over.

It also exposed the inadequacies of the Hyderabad bowling attack.

TN second

Tamil Nadu, which defeated Kerala by 46 runs, thanks to a century by M. Vijay (112, 127b, 9x4, 2x6), finished second.

The scores: At Rajiv Gandhi Stadium: Hyderabad 189 in 50 overs (N. Arjun Yadav 56) lost to Karnataka 190 for four in 44.5 overs (Bharat Chipli 45, C. Raghu 45, Deepak Chowgule 44 not out).

At Gymkhana: Andhra 158 in 41.4 overs lost to Goa 160 for two in 37.4 overs (Swapnil Asnodkar 83).

At RRC Stadium: Tamil Nadu 330 for four in 50 overs (M. Vijay 112, N. Einstein 92, S. Badrinath 64, Hemang Badani 41 not out) bt Kerala 284 for seven in 50 overs (Raphi Vincent Gomes 105, C. Jagadeesh 45).

Final standings: 1. Karnataka (23 points), 2. Tamil Nadu (18), 3. Kerala (9), 4. Hyderabad (5), 5. Goa (3), 6. Andhra (2).

Recommended for you