Kannan's hat-trick in GKMFHC's win

Madurai: A hat-trick by A.G. Kannan helped G.K. Motors Finance Hockey Club defeat Ever Great Hockey Club, Vadipatti, 4-0 and enter the semifinals of the Hi-Tech Arai-Bharat Petroleum BJPM Trophy State-level hockey tournament here on Saturday.

The other three teams, which made the last-four grade, were all Police teams-Madurai City Police, Chennai City Police and Tamil Nadu Special Police.

The results (quarterfinals): G.K. Motors Finance Club 4 (A.G. Kannan 3, Vaman) bt Ever Great HC, Vadipatti, 0; Chennai City Police 5 (Joseph 2, Murugan, Manikandan, Parthiban) bt TNEB, Chennai, 1 (Ganesh Moorthy); Madurai City Police 8 (Soundarapandian, Murali, Kannnan 2, Deva 2, Manikandan, Paulraj) bt TKU College, Thanjavur, 7 (Karthik 2, Nirmal Kumar 2, Tamil Selvan, Manikandan, Selvam) via sudden death, regulation time 1-1, tie-breaker 5-5; Tamil Nadu Special Police 6 (Pradeep 2, Parthiban, Saravanan, Krishnan, Palani) bt Reserve Line SC 5 (V. Kannan, Rajagopal, Kathiravan, Thamarai, Raja Vethiselvam) via tie breaker, regulation time 1-1.

SBOA MHSS prevails

A half-century by V. Srinivasan helped SBOA MHSS Cricket Club defeat Oxford Cricket Club by 36 runs in the Madurai District Cricket Association first division zone `A' league at Madurai on Saturday.

The scores: SBOA MHSS CC 171 in 49 overs (V. Srinivasan 50) bt Oxford CC 135 in 43 overs (Raffaik 46).

Arasaradi CC 173 in 43.1 overs bt Customs and Central Excise CC 110 in 27.2 overs (Ramesh four for 34).

Shyam in sole lead

P. Shyam Nikhil of Madurai emerged sole leader with 5.5 points at the end of the sixth round of the Arasan Fire Works 13th State Rapid Chess Championship at Sivakasi on Saturday.

Important results (Sixth round): P. Stanley Samson 5 drew with P. Shyam Nikhil 5.5; Syed Anwar Shazuli 5 bt R. Ramnath Bhuvanesh 4; A. Shankar 4 lost to P. Maheswaran 5; R. Preetham Sharma 4 drew with M.J. Noohu 4; Dusthageer Ibrahim 4.5 bt S. Mari Arul 3.5; M. Kunal 4.5 bt R. Pounraj 3.

PVP College posts win

Pannaikadu Veerammal Paramasivam College, Singarakottai, beat Arulmigu Palani Andavar Polytechnic College, Palani, by eight wickets in the last Group `B' match in the Dindigul District Colleges Cricket league for the RVS Trophy at Dindigul on Friday.

GTN Arts College and PSNA College of Engineering have already qualified with 32 and 23 points respectively from this group.

RVS College of Engineering and Gandhigram Rural University qualified with 25 and 14 points respectively from Group `A'.

Easy for Pele FC

Three goals each by Sivakumar and Paul helped Pele Football Club drub John Paul Football Club 6-0 in the Dindigul District Football Association `B' division league for the Coronation Trophy at Dindigul on Saturday.

Kabaddi championship

The Tamil Nadu State senior Kabaddi championship for men and women will commence at the Government Kallar HSS ground, Checkanurani, near Madurai, on February 19.

About 40 teams, including ICF, Southern Railway, Sun Paper Mills, Madurai Customs, SAI Hostel, Chennai, TN Postal team and TN Police team in the men's section and 25 teams in women's section are expected for the championship, which concludes on February 22.

USC scores win

United Sports Club, Kayalpatnam, beat Kayal Sporting Club 2-0 in the Tuticorin District Football Association `D' division league for A.K. Gani Memorial Trophy at the USC ground, Kayalpatnam, on Saturday. Kather and Sameen scored.