Jharkhand enters quarterfinal league

Principal Correspondent

GURGAON: Defending champion Jharkhand played out a tough 2-2 draw with Delhi, but still managed to sneak into the quarterfinal league from Cluster III, in the 44th Junior National football championship for the B.C. Trophy here on Monday.

Gagan Chauhan opened the scoring for Delhi in the fourth minute. But Jharkhand shot back through Abhishek Das, in the 11th minute.

Both the teams played defensive for the most part before the 82nd-minute strike by Mohammed Ashraful put Jharkhand in front.

Having lost its league match to Tripura, Delhi needed a big win to stay in contention.

But that was a far-fetched dream. Ashish did well when his 90th minute strike helped Delhi draw the match.

The quarterfinal league line-up is now ready with Assam, Orissa, Karnataka and Jharkhand joining Haryana, Bihar, Mizoram and Bengal.

Haryana, Jharkhand, Bihar and Mizoram will form Group ‘A’ and play here.

In Group ‘B’, Bengal, Assam, Orissa and Karnataka will contest in Faridabad.

Assam ousts Kerala

At the Devi Lal Sports Stadium, Kerala failed to live up to expectations that it raised after beating Himachal Pradesh 15-0 on Saturday.

Playing against Assam, Kerala lost the plot early on as Sibra Narzary (10th) and M. Mushary (13th) struck in quick succession.

A. Phukan (74th) completed the tally for the North East team.

At Faridabad, Goa defeated Uttar Pradesh, Orissa prevailed over Meghalaya and Karnataka edged Manipur, all by 1-0 margin.

Satish nets winner

For Karnataka, Satish Kumar’s 74th minute strike helped it raise its hopes after having lost to Chandigarh earlier.

Playing after Karnataka’s win, Chandigarh needed to win by at least a margin of eight goals over Chhattisgarh to top Cluster VIII, but could manage only a 5-0 win and lost out on a quarterfinal spot.

The results: Assam 3 (Sibra Marzary 10, M. Mushary 13, A. Phukan 74) bt Kerala 0; Jharkhand 2 (Abhishek Das 11, Mohammed Ashraful 82) drew with Delhi 2 (Gagan Chauhan 4, Ashish 90).

Goa 1 (Valerio Rodrigues 63) bt Uttar Pradesh 0; Orissa 1 (Tatun Das 68) bt Meghalaya 0.

Karnataka 1 (Satish Kumar 74) bt Manipur 0; Chandigarh 5 (L. Kamei 45, 63, 75, Rinku 47, Sukhman Singh 54) bt Chhattisgarh 0.

Recommended for you