Inter-collegiate volleyball from tomorrow

CHENNAI: Lakshmi Nagar Sports Club will conduct the Aircel State-level inter-collegiate volleyball tournament for men and women at Jaigopal Garodia Government Girls’ HSS here beginning July 23.

Teams competing for the men’s Aircel Trophy include Loyola College, D.B. Jain College, SRM University, St. Joseph’s Engineering College, Panimalar Engineering College, Jamal Mohd. College (Tiruchi), Sethu Institute of Engineering (Madurai) and Aditanar College (Tiruchendur).

The women will compete for the Sadhguru Trophy. Matches will be played on a league-cum-knockout basis and a total of Rs. 51,000 will be given as prize money.

At a press conference here on Tuesday, Volleyball Federation of India secretary general K. Murugan said: “Sports like volleyball need encouragement and we are grateful to the sponsors for providing timely assistance.”

The tournament will be inaugurated by Tamil Nadu Athletics Association president and former DGP, W.I. Davaram, on Thursday. The event will conclude with the men’s final on July 26.

Kabaddi championship

The Nellai Friends and Dr. Sivanthi Club will revive the P. John Memorial State-level kabaddi championship at the Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium. The event will be held from July 23 to 26.

ICF, Tamil Nadu Police, Sun Paper Mills, SAI, Alathankarai Club (Kanyakumari) and KMK Kabaddi Club (Cheenamalai) are the men’s teams.

The four women’s teams are Tamil Nadu Police, Kabaddi Star, SAI and Alathankarai (KK District).

The men’s winner will get a cash award of Rs.20,000, while the next ranked teams in the men’s section are to receive Rs.15,000, Rs.10,000 and Rs.8000.

The first prize for women is Rs.10,000, followed by Rs.8000, Rs.6000 and Rs.4000 for the next three teams.

Recommended for you