HPS (Begumpet) to meet Mamata

HYDERABAD: Hyderabad Public School (Begumpet) and Mamata High School entered the final of the fifth Vemparala Purushotham memorial inter-school hockey tournament at Gymkhana grounds here on Sunday.

In the first semifinal, Mamata HS defeated Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan School (Ramachandrapuram) 2-0 with P. Rakesh and K. Rajait scoring.

Ramesh scores twice

In the other semifinal, HPS too recorded a 2-0 win over St. Joseph’s High School (Ramanthapur) with striker B. Ramesh scoring twice.

The final will be played on February 3.

Sporting posts win

In the B-division hockey league championship, Secunderabad Sporting recorded a 3-1 win over Rainbow Club.

Centre-forward Haseeb scored twice and right-in Rajasekhar once for the winner while Malik reduced the margin for the loser.

Big win for Bhavan’s

Bhavan’s Vivekananda College (Sainikpuri) recorded a six-wicket win over Wesley Degree College in the semifinal of the Osmania University inter-college cricket tournament, for the Ranga Reddy Trophy, here.

The scores (semifinals):

Wesley Degree College 233 (Rajneesh 53, Samiullah 95, Kushal Jilla three for 35) lost to Bhavan’s Vivekananda College (Sainikpuri) 236 for four (Nikhilesh Tunga 65, Anshulal 62, Nimesh Reddy 32, Kushal Jilla 34 n.o.).

NIT triumphs

Nizam Institute of Technology (Hyderabad) recorded a 5-4 win, via tie-breaker, over JNTU (Kukatpally) in the final of the inaugural JNTU inter-collegiate football tournament at the MLR Instittute of Technology (Dundigal) near here.

Talent Series tennis

Ganesh Raman Tennis Academy will organise the all-India ranking Talent Series tennis tournament for boys and girls (under-12 and 14) at its premises in Bowenpally from March 2 to 6.

Entries close on Feb. 9. Call 98857 77459 for details.

North crushes South

North Zone crushed South Zone by seven wickets in the ACA Ranji One-Day Inter-Zonal match played at D.S.A. Grounds in Kakinada on Sunday.

The scores: South Zone 138 (40.5 overs): Balaji Krishna Singh 65 n.o, G.V.S. Prasad 4 for 24, T. Atchuta Rao 3 for 25, North Zone 139 for 3 (28.2 overs). H. Watekar 45, B. Sumanth 47 n.o, J.Y. Yadav 26 n.o.

Recommended for you