East Godavari retains title

VISAKHAPATNAM: East Godavari retained the title, beating Kadapa 4-0 in the final of ninth Andhra Pradesh sub-junior girls hockey championship, at the DLB ground here on Sunday.

In a match played under continuous drizzle, Kadapa gave a good fight but East Godavari exerted pressure to win the match. The winner was led the first half 1-0 through a D. Sravani goal.

Sravani was in a good form as she scored two more goals in the second half after captain G. Nagamani scored one after half time.

Earlier, last year’s runner-up settled for third place, beating Anantapur 2-0. Rajani scored during half time and Uma in the second half.

Kadapa had the satisfaction of one of its players, Chinni being adjudged Player of the Tournament.

Krishnaveni from Visakhapatnam was adjudged the best defender.

Best goalkeeper award went to Gowri of East Godavari while Bhavani of Anantapur was adjudged best forward and Reddamma of Chittoor as best mid-fielder.

Sujata, tarangani, Rajani and Mamata received special awards as upcoming players.

The winner, runner-up, third placed and fourth placed teams were presented cash awards of Rs. 5,000, Rs 3,000, Rs. 1,500 and Rs. 1,000 respectively.

MD of CMR group M.V. Ramana and Indian goalkeeping coach Aloysius Edwards were participated in the valedictory function. — Special Correspondent

Recommended for you