Delhi, Orissa win titles

Madurai: Delhi won the men’s title defeating Goa 5-1 in the title match in the first Champion Trophy invitation baseball tournament organised jointly by the Madurai District Baseball Association and Tamil Nadu Baseball Association here on Sunday.

Earlier, Delhi finished on top of the five-team league defeating Uttarkhand 7-1 for its fourth win (8 points) and Goa beat Tamil Nadu President’s IX 2-1 to finish runner-up with 5 points (2 wins and a draw).

Orissa finished third with 4 points (2 wins and 2 losses).

Orissa won the women’s title with an all-win record in the four-team league, while Goa and Manipur finished with two points each (one win and two losses). Goa beat Manipur 3-2 in the play-off match to finish runner-up.

Ramakanth, President, Baseball Amateur Federation of India presided and T.J. Dinakaran, President, TNBA gave away the prizes.

The results: Men (final): Delhi 5 (Ajay, Aswaid, Arun, Hausimprat, Rohit) bt Goa 1 (Ritesh).

Earlier results (league): Goa 2 (Krupesh, Sudesh) bt Tamil Nadu President’s IX 1 (Ravi); Delhi 7 (Rohit 2, Ajay, Mahender, Ashwani, Vivek, Prashanth) bt Uttarakhand 1 (Ravinder Bisht).

Women (play-off for second place): Goa 3 (Geeta, Kavita, Claudia) bt Manipur 2 (Diana, Monika). — Sports Correspondent

Recommended for you