Cup of joy for Sarita, Sonia

GOLDEN PUNCH: Tamil Nadu’s Sonia J. Parab (right) beat Krishhna Thapa of All India Police in the 46kg category.

GOLDEN PUNCH: Tamil Nadu’s Sonia J. Parab (right) beat Krishhna Thapa of All India Police in the 46kg category.   | Photo Credit: — PHOTO: M. GOVARTHAN

Sports Reporter

Erode: Tamil Nadu’s lone medal hope Sonia J. Parab set the night on fire with a commanding 27-10 win over Krishhna Thapa of All India Police in the 46kg final of the women’s Federation Cup boxing championship at the VOC Stadium ring on Sunday.

The opening bout between Sonia and Krishna was delayed for about half an hour to facilitate the guests. The crowd, which had gathered in large numbers, turned restless. But, at the end, it was worth the wait as the hometown queen had them all soaked in joy with her gutsy display.

Cautious start

She started off cautiously and opened up with a flurry of punches to unsettle the young gun from Delhi from the second round. It was a big night as well for Krishhna as it was her first major championship. The 20-year-old guest pugilist for the Police surprised her much experienced opponent with a decent fight. But once Sonia got into the groove there was no stopping her.

Sonia, who was declared the best boxer, was thrilled with her effort and thanked the crowd for the support.

Sarita strikes hot

World championship bronze medalist L. Sarita Devi of All India Police overcame a stiff challenge (39-15) from Asian silver medalist Pavitra of Haryana for gold and glory in the 54kg class. Pavitra proved that she had what it took to tackle a world champion — youth, intelligence, counter punching ability and above all the desire.

The former World champion was aggressive at the start but Pavitra weathered the storm bravely.

All India Police, with 39 points, finished for the team title. Haryana, which fell short by six points, had to rest content for the second spot.

The results (final)

46kg: Sonia. J. Parab (TN) bt Krishhna Thapa (AIP) 27-10. 48kg: Sudesh (Har) bt Jahnabi Gogoi (AIP) (RSC). 51kg: Suman (Har) bt K. Mandakini Chanu (AIP) 29-6. 54kg: L. Sarita Devi (AIP) bt Pavitra (Har) 39-15. 57kg: Kamla Bist (AIP) bt Shashi Kiran (Del) 29-7. 60kg: Preeti Beniwal (Har) bt Rinki Singh (AP) 22-5. 64kg: S. Ibemcha Devi (AIP) bt Seema (Utk) 33-7. 69kg: Neetu (Del) bt Kavita (Har) 10-5. 75kg: P. Kachari (AIP) bt Sonam (Har) 20-19. 81kg: N. Sangita Devi (AIP) bt B.V. Padmavathi (AP) 21-9. 82kg: Kavita (Har) bt Reena Kunwar (AIP) 29-2.

Semifinals: 57kg: Shashi Kiran (Del) bt Parvita (Utk) 28-3. 60kg: Rinki Singh (AP) bt S. Kalaiarasi (TN) (RSC), Preeti Beniwal (Har) bt Protima Mundaya (Asm) 29-5. 64kg: Seema (Utk) bt S.Sajitha (Ker) 32-5, S. Ibemcha Devi (AIP) bt Suman (Har) 11-7. 69kg: Kavita (Har) bt H. Jharna (AP) 18-1, Neetu (Del) bt Asha Mol (Ker) 20-1. 75kg: Suman (Har) bt P. Lakshmi (AP) (RSC). Protiva Kachari (AIP) bt Princy Joseph (Ker) 38-6. 81kg: B.V. Padmavathi (AP) bt Amal Rose (Ker) (RSC), N. Sangita Devi (AIP) bt Priyanka (Har) 24-2. 82kg: Kavita Chahal (AIP) w/o. Vijji T.V. (Ker).

Recommended for you