Cosmopolitan Club claims Bishop Waller Shield

TRIUMPHANT: The Cosmopolitan Club team that won the fourth division cricket league championship.  

Chennai: Cosmopolitan Club won the fourth division cricket league championship to take the Bishop Waller Shield for the year 2007-08. Figuring in the ‘C’ zone, Cosmopolitan Club topped the table with 40 points (10 wins and one loss) while City Central League and Perambur Club emerged winners in the ‘A’ and ‘B’ zones respectively. All the three teams were involved in the ties for the prize.

In the first match, Perambur Club lost to CCL by eight wickets, and in the final Cosmo beat CCL by four runs.

Venkat Parthiban was the prominent scorer for Cosmopolitan Club totalling 269 runs in eight matches averaging 44.83, followed by P. Vijaykumar (337 runs from 12 matches at 42.13), Imran Ali Khan (282 runs in 11 matches, 28.20) and K. Siva (265 in 10 matches average at 26.50).

Ranjit Kuruvilla picked 24 wickets at 13.29 apiece followed by Koonal A. Khedkar (25 wickets at 14.24).

The scores:

Match I: Perambur Club 98 in 23.1 overs (P.S. Saravanan five for 26) lost to CCL 99 for two in 12.2 overs (P. Praveen Kumar 50 not out).

Final: Cosmopolitan Club 185 in 46.2 overs beat CCL 181 in 46 overs (C.R. Sredhar 61, N. Udaya Kumar 52 not out, Ranjith A.Kuruvilla five for 33).