Cochin Premier League begins today

KOCHI: The Ernakulam District Football Association has repackaged and renamed its district league championship to give it a boost.

The new Cochin Premier League championship, featuring some of the biggest names in Kerala football, including Viva Kerala, Malabar United (which is registered with the EDFA though the team has its base in Kozhikode), Central Excise and Cochin Port, kicks off at the Maharaja’s Stadium here on Monday.

Twelve teams have been divided into two groups with the top two from each pool qualifying for the semifinals.

“Apart from the new name, we are also conducting the tournament in a more organised manner,” said S. Ramachandran Nair, an organising official. “We had a meeting with all the participating teams and we have given special colours for each side. We want to attract sponsors and the public in a big way.”

The groupings: Pool A: Viva Kerala, Golden Threads FC, Udaya SC, Cochin Port Trust, MA College, WRS (Edathala). Pool B: Central Excise, Malabar United FC, Amateurs FC, India Gateway Terminal, Bolghatty Footballers, St. Albert’s College. —Principal Correspondent

Recommended for you