Appiah Chettiar is champion

RULING THE ROOST:Appiah Chettiar, winner of the TNCA fifth division title  

CHENNAI: C. Appiah Chettiar Memorial CC lifted the P. Subbarayan Shield as the TNCA fifth division champion after topping the play-off between the winners of the division's four zones.

Appiah Chettiar, which topped the ‘B' zone, defeated ‘C' zone winner T. Srinivasaraghavan Memorial SC in the semifinal before beating ‘D' zone winner Chatnath RC in the championship match.

These three teams, along with ‘A' zone topper Gems CC, were promoted to the fourth division for the next season.

Appiah Chettiar's top run-scorer this season was T. Lakshmana Murthy, who scored 433 runs in 12 innings with two centuries. K. Saravanan, with 357 runs in 10 innings, also contributed consistently.

S. Parameswaran was the leading light with the ball, bagging 41 wickets in 12 matches at 12.10. K. Saravanan followed closely with 40 from 13 games.

The scores: Final: Appiah Chettiar 230 in 47.1 overs (K. Saravanan 70, J. Ashok 39, Naveen Kannan six for 92) bt Chatnath RC 127 in 32.5 overs (Donald Thomas 43, S. Parameswaran five for 39).

Semifinals: Appiah Chettiar 264 in 49.4 overs (T. Lakshmana Murthy 103, D. Mani 62, K. Saravanan 30, K. Kalai Selvan 37, K.R. Subin three for 72, M.A. Sathish Kumar five for 93) bt TSR MSC 210 in 49.4 overs (C.K. Venkataraman 49, M.A. Satish Kumar 54, S. Parameswaran five for 97, K. Saravanan five for 112).

Chatnath 222 for nine in 50 overs (V. Satish 40, Donald Thomas 58, Shane Dominic Meyers four for 48, T. Devendra Kumar three for 59) bt Gems 144 in 36.4 overs (T. Devendra Kumar 36, Naveen Kannan six for 50, Vasudevan three for 27).