‘My Country Run’ on Jan. 31

January 20, 2016 12:00 am | Updated September 23, 2016 01:46 am IST

The ‘My Country Run’, organised by JGI-Jain University, will be flagged off on January 31 at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium.

The race has been split into three categories — Elite 10K (foreign and Indian), Open 10K (men and women) and Cool 5K (men and women).

Cricketer Robin Uthappa, an alumni of the educational institution, launched the event at a press conference here on Tuesday. Uthappa and fellow Jain University alumni, cueist Pankaj Advani, have been named as the ambassadors for the run.

All proceeds received from the sponsorship and donations will be used to support future Olympians and international champions from the country, it was announced.

“The time has come for our nation to produce more Olympians — it is a matter of getting the right support. With this initiative, we want to start a movement to develop and promote sports as a career, and fitness as a way of life,” Chenraj Roychand, JGI Group Chairman, said.

Race Director, Gul Mohamed Akbar, stated that he expects the 5K event to attract the maximum number of participants.

Entries can be submitted on http://www.mycountry.run

Prize money for winners (in INR):

Elite 10K:Foreign: 1,00,000, Indian: 75,000, Open 10K: 50,000, Cool 5K: 25,000.

Easy for Youth CC

Youth CC recorded a thumping 306-run victory over Anekal CC in the KSCA V Division (Group I) league.

The scores:

Youth CC 408 in 50 overs (V. Madhusudhan 137, Nagendra Prasad 60, V.M. Bharath 52, K.V. Kumar 40 n.o., N. Jeevan four for 78, Jagadish three for 41) bt Anekal CC 102 in 13.3 overs (Suraj Singh five for 48).

Huttons CC 264 in 49.3 overs (Syed Ali 41, Dheer 35, Rahul 27, Sandeep 35, Dean Antony four for 42) bt Maharana CC 217 in 44.1 overs (Ashwin 35, Dean Antony 30, Venkatesh 30, Sharath 26, Sanjeev five for 30).

Young Boys CC 361 for eight in 50 overs (Venkatesh 111 n.o., Devaraj 75, Chalapathy 63, S. Manjunath 45, Madan three for 28) bt Blaze CC 212 in 42.2 overs (Nawaz 51, Imran Ali 50, Madhan 31, Chalapathi five for 29).

Vasanthnagar CC 177 in 48.4 overs (Bhargav 42, Roshan Lal 27) lost to BMSCE 179 for seven in 33 overs (Shankar 47, Sanjay Gowda 42).

Citizen Cultural Association 177 for nine in 50 overs (Navneeth 37, Prakash five for 27) lost to Seshadripuram Day Junior College 178 for eight in 35.1 overs (Dharma Paul 35, Nithin 33, Sunil 32, Suprith 30).

St. Joseph’s College 91 in 27.4 overs (Raha 42) lost to Bharat CC 92 for four in 12.5 overs.

Spin of coin favours Dayananda Arya Vidya PS

A B.T.R. Shield (Division III) under-14 inter-school cricket match between Sarvodaya NPS and Dayananda Arya Vidya PS went in the latter’s favour by spin of coin after the fixture ended in a tie.

The scores:

Sarvodaya NPS 129 in 38 overs (Rohit four for 45, Aakash four for 32) tied with Dayananda Arya Vidya PS 129 in 34.1 overs (Aakash 28, Jayanth Jadav three for 34). Dayananda Arya Vidya PS won by spin of coin.

Mallya Aditi IS 292 for seven in 50 overs (Manoveer 67, Jasper 60, Samit Dravid 55 n.o., Adarsh three for 56) bt Kendriya Vidyalaya 174 in 38.3 overs (Adarsh 89, Aryan Joshi three for 54).

Cambridge PS 228 in 49.3 overs (S.V. Karthik 125, Hrishikesh four for 45, Rohan three for 24) bt Sri Sri Ravishankar Vidya Mandir 147 in 33.3 overs (Alok 28, Hrishikesh 25, R. Pruthvik four for 35, B. Sandeep four for 23).

Inventure Academy 108 in 30.3 overs (Adi Agarwal 30, Aryan Nambiar four for eight) lost to National PS (Rajajinagar) 109 for two in 13.3 overs (Advaith Rajeev 46).

Emphatic win

for SAI ‘A’

SAI ‘A’ put it across PCTC 5-1 in the ‘A’ division of the Hockey Bangalore league on Tuesday.

The results:

‘A’ division: SAI ‘A’ 5 (P.A. Machaiah 2, Raheel, K.P. Somaiah, Basavaraj) bt PCTC 1 (N.S. Rajesh); ASC 1 (Dung Dung) drew with MEG 'B' 1 (C.A. Subbaiah).

‘B’ division: Canara Bank 2 (Suresh 2) bt RWF 1 (K.R. Umesh); Postal 3 (Naveen Shekar 2, C. Prakash) bt AGORC 2 (Bopaiah, Mohd. Naheem).

Nugerilal scores winner

A 12th-minute goal from Nugerilal Hamar took MEG to a 1-0 win over ASC in the BDFA Super Division football league on Tuesday.

Other result: ‘A’ division: ADE 4 (Prem 2, Nickey, Kapilan) bt Young Challengers 0.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.