Vasudevan Nair, CPI leader in the Lok Sabha

NEW DELHI, JUNE 1. The former Kerala Chief Minister, P.K. Vasudevan Nair, will be the leader of the Communist Party of India in the Lok Sabha while the senior leader, Gurudas Dasgupta would be the Deputy Leader in the House.

The meeting here of the newly-elected members of the party in the Lok Sabha also elected Ajay Chakraborty as the Whip and K. Subbarayan as the Secretary of the 10-member CPI Parliamentary party.

Gaya Singh, a member of the Rajya Sabha presided over the meeting, according to the CPI National Secretary, D. Raja.