UDF loses ground in Wayanad

Wins only three grama panchayats

Special Correspondent

KALPETTA: The sharp erosion in the support for the United Democratic Front in Wayanad following the split in the Congress and the consequent emergence of Democratic Indira Congress (Karunakaran) (DIC-K) as a decisive force in the region is reflected in the results of the latest elections to grama panchayats as in other local bodies.

Of the 25 grama panchayats, LDF - DIC(K) alliance has won in 20. UDF was able to win a majority only in three - Muppainad, Ambalavayal and Thariyode. In 2000 elections, LDF could win only seven of the 25 grama panchayats in Wayanad.

In two panchayats (Mullankolli and Mananthavadi) the elections ended in a tie with LDF - DIC(K) alliance and UDF winning same number seats.

LDF romped home in Vellamunda, Tirunelli, Thondarnad, Edavaka, Thavinjal, Panamaram, Meenangadi, Nenmeni, Poothadi, Noolpuzha, Bathery, Pulpally, Kottathara,Vengapally, Vythiri, Muttil, Pozhuthana, Padinjarethara, Meppadi and Kaniyampetta.

The LDF-DIC(K) combine has won nine out of 16 divisions in district panchayats. UDF bagged the remaining seven.

Recommended for you