Trial stops to be made permanent

CHENNAI, MARCH 17. Following persistent demand from passenger associations and elected representatives, Southern Railway has decided to retain the stops that had been introduced as a trial measure for the following trains:

Train No. 2673/2674 Chennai Central-Coimbatore-Chennai Central Cheran Express: Jolarpettai stop; 6670 Erode-Chennai Central Yercaud Express: Walajah Road stop; 6085/6086 Arakkonam-Jolarpettai-Arakkonam Express: Melalathur stop; 2639/2640, Chennai Central-Bangalore-Chennai Central Brindavan Express: Walajah Road stop; 6222/6221 Chennai Central-Mysore-Chennai Central Kaveri Express: Tiruvallur stop. Special trains have been ordered on the following routes to clear the extra rush of passengers:

Chennai Egmore-Nagercoil-Chennai Egmore Specials: Train no. 0609 Chennai-Nagercoil special will leave Chennai Egmore at 11 p.m. on March 24 and arrive Nagercoil at 1-30 p.m. the next day.

Train no. 0610 Nagercoil-Chennai special will leave Nagercoil at 3-30 p.m. on March 27 and arrive Chennai Egmore at 7-30 a.m. the next day.

The trains will stop at Mambalam, Tambaram, Chengalpet, Villupuram, Virudhachalam, Tiruchi, Dindigul, Kodaikanal Road, Madurai, Virudhunagar, Sathur, Kovilpatti, Vanchi Maniyachi and Tirunelveli.


Recommended for you