`Sesham' adjudged best feature film

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM APRIL 25 . The Malayalam film, `Sesham', directed by T. K. Rajeev Kumar, won the State award for the best feature film of 2001.

Murali was adjudged the best actor for his performance in `Neythukaran' and Suhasini, the best actress for her acting in `Theerthatanam'. T. V. Chandran is the best director (film: `Dani') of the year.

Meghamalhar, directed by Kamal, was chosen the second best film by the jury headed by the director, Priyadarsan. Cochin Haneefa was named the second best actor (Soothradharan) and Sona Nair, the second best actress (Neythukaran).Krisha is the best child artiste (Sari). Sesham won Rajeev Kumar the award for the best story also.

K.J. Jesudas and K. S. Chitra got the award for the best playback singers. Their songs `Akashadweepangal Sakshi' in Ravana Prabhu and `Mooli Mooli' in Theerdhatanam respectively won them the awards. `Akashadweepangal Sakshi' won Girish Puthancheri the award for the best lyricist. M. G. Radhakrishnan was chosen the best music director (Achaneyanenikkishtam). The best background music was that of Kaithapram Vishwanath (Kannaki).

K. G. Jayan bagged the award for the best photographer and Kamal for the best screen play. For editing of Sesham, Sreekar Prasad was named the best editor. The film's sound recordist, Simon Selvaraj, was also chosen for the State award.

The Chitrajali studio got the award for the best processing laboratory (Dani). Sabitha Jayaraj and Thankamani won the awards for the best costume designer (Kannaki) and best dubbing artist respectively. The documentary, `Kanavumalayileku', about a tribal school in Wayanad, won the award for the best documentary. `Pularvettom' was adjudged the best children's film. Its director, Harikumar, got the award for the best director of children film. Ravana Prabhu, produced by M. J. Antony and directed by Ranjith, was adjudged the most popular film with artistic quality. The award for the best new-comer into direction went to Priyanandanan (Neythukaran).

The jury made a special mention of the short film, `Changathikoottam', as the best socially relevant short film. Jayaram was awarded a special jury award for his acting in three films that came before the jury. The jury chairman, Priyadarsan, said that Jayaram missed the award for the best actor as the make-up dulled his performance.

A separate jury headed by Gracy selected the book `Anukalpanathinte Attaprakaram', written by Dr. Sudha Warrier, as the best book on cinema.

The Minister for Culture, G. Karthikeyan, who announced the awards at with the Kerala Chalachitra Academy chairman, Adoor Gopalakrishnan, said that the awards would be presented at a function to be held in Kozhikode on May 16. The J. C. Daniel Award would be announced before that. It could not be announced now as the selection process was not over. The awards carry a statuette and a citation each besides cash prizes of varying amounts. For the best film, the producers, Latha Kurien, Rajiv and K. Madhavan, will get Rs. 45,000 and the director Rs. 20,000. The producers of the second best film, M. V. Sreyaz Kumar, will receive Rs. 30,000 and its director, Rs. 15,000. The best director will get Rs. 20,000.

Recommended for you