School notes

well done:Toppers of the SSLC public examinations being honoured at Rajagopalapuram Municipal High School, Pudukottai.

well done:Toppers of the SSLC public examinations being honoured at Rajagopalapuram Municipal High School, Pudukottai.  

SSLC toppers honoured

The Parent Teachers Association of Rajagopalapuram Municipal High School, Pudukottai, honoured toppers of SSLC public examinations at a function recently. V. Gunaseelan, president of the PTA, presided over. K. Parvathi, district education officer, gave away cash awards to S. Ilangovan who top scored with 446 marks, K. Divyabarathi (436), the second rank-holder, and S. Vijay and P. Sangeethapriya (both 425), third rank-holders. The cash award was presented by the former headmaster of the Government Model Higher Secondary School, Arangaramanujam. Cash awards provided by the PTA were given to teachers in whose subjects more than 80 per cent result was achieved. The teachers – N. Kalpana (Tamil), P. Kavitha (English), V. Rajesh Srinivas ( Maths), P. Arumugam (Science) and J. Josphin Rajamani (Social Science) were honoured. P. Arumugam, headmaster (in-charge) of the school, Arangaramanujam and Sudandiradevi, former teachers of Government Girls HSS, felicitated students and teachers.

Teachers lauded for services rendered

M. Selvasekaran, assistant headmaster, Crescent Higher Secondary School, Avaniapuram near Aduthurai, and D. Panneerselvam, former headmaster of the Pamani Government HSS, were honoured at the anniversary celebration of the Deiva Sekkizhar Manram held at the Veera Saiva Periamadam, Kumbakonam, recently. Both of them were honoured in recognition of their service to rural students. Thavathiru Sundaramurthy Thambiran of Thiruppanandal Kasimutt, presided over . K. P. Nallasivam, professor of Tamil University, Parasuraman, former RDO, N. Panneerslvam, secretary of the Manram, felicitated.

Pat on the back

for school

The Government High School at Vadakarai in Tiruvarur district has registered cent per cent results in SSLC public examinations for the fifth consecutive year. Kiruthika, with a marks tally of 456 marks, was the school topper.

Vijayakumar and Vijaya Rahul, with 430 and 424 marks, finished second and third respectively. The Parent Teachers Association of the school honoured headmaster V. Balasubramanian, teachers and the students who brought laurels. Karthikeyan, PTA president, P. K. U. Manikandan, vice president, Sakunthala, panchayat president, and representatives of village education committee, honoured them. V. Balasubramaniyan, headmaster and P. Mohan, BT assistant, spoke.

Celebrating Ramanujan’s birth anniversary

In commemoration of the 125th birth anniversary celebration of Srinivasa Ramanujan, one of the greatest Mathematicians, the year 2012 has been declared as the ‘Year of Mathematics’ and December 22 as the National Mathematics Day. Dr. G. S. Kalyanasundaram Matriculation Higher Secondary School, Pazhaya Gudalur, has planned year-long celebrations to honour Ramanujan.

The celebrations were inaugurated at a function held recently. K. Sadagopan, director, and Easwari Jayaraman, principal, Shrikanth, professor of Mathematics, SASTRA University, and Mahadevan, former headmaster, spoke. Mr. Shrikanth gave a presentation on on Vedic mathematics. Mr. Mahadevan taught students techniques for quick calculations and fast checking of answers.

Compiled by Syed Muthahar Saqaf in Tiruchi

Recommended for you