Ramalingam is DMK's floor leader in Corporation Council

Staff Reporter

V. Devarajan, R.T. Sekhar deputy leaders; K. Ekkappan, chief whip

Chennai: N. Ramalingam, councillor of ward 75 (Aminjikarai West), has been chosen as DMK floor leader in the Chennai Corporation Council.

According to a party release issued on Wednesday night, the DMK deputy leaders in the council will be V. Devarajan (ward 47) and R.T. Sekhar (ward 2).

K. Ekkappan (ward 101) will be the Chief Whip and Selvi Soundararajan (ward 146) will be Treasurer.

M. Krishnasamy, TNCC president, issued the list of Congress councillors for the Opposition team in the council.

The members are: Saidai P. Ravi (Opposition Leader), M. Govindasamy and S. V. Sankar (Deputy Leaders), S. Mangalraj and Susheela Gopalakrishnan (General Secretaries), P. Thiruvengadam (Chief Whip) and M. Nagarajan (Treasurer). Congress has nominated councillor Janaki Kanniappan as the Chairperson of the Standing Committee for Education and councillor M. Velayutham as an Appointments Committee member.

Ward committees

The Chennai Corporation has a new set of chairpersons for its ward committees in the ten zones. They are: Zone 1 - Ward 8 councillor Dunlop P. Ravi (DMK); Zone 2 - Ward 21 councillor

V. Shanmugasundaram (Congress); Zone 3 - Ward 35 councillor M. Nedumaran (DMK); Zone 4 - Ward 51councillor J. Srinivasan (DMK); Zone 5 - Ward 70 councillor S. Suresh Babu (Congress); Zone 6 - Ward 87 councillor M. Dhanasekaran (DMK); Zone 7 - Ward 113 councillor M.P. Anbudurai (DMK); Zone 8 - Ward 126 councillor K. Ezhumalai (DMK); Zone 9 - Ward 130 councillor K. Dhanasekaran (DMK) and Zone 10 - Ward 142 councillor M. Jeyaraman (PMK).

Some of the winning candidates, including Mr. Nedumaran, Mr. Dhanasekaran and Mr. Suresh Babu, were ward councillors in the previous regime too.

Recommended for you