Quality health care services available in Pondy, says Valsaraj

Pondicherry Oct. 5. The Health Minister, E. Valsaraj, has said Pondicherry ranked first in the total

immunisation of the new-born, pre-school and school children and the pregnant women.

The National Population Commission has given the ranking based on the composite index of 13 vital indicators.

Inaugurating the 23rd annual conference of the Indian Association of Biomedical Scientists (IABMS), organised by the Department of Physiology, JIPMER, and also handing over medals and citations to senior and junior scientists here today, Mr. Valsaraj said quality health care services were available to the people, and the government hospital here had been equipped with the CT scanner and MRI facilities.

Mr. Valsaraj said the rapid household survey conducted by the Centre indicated cent per cent awareness of family planning. All these achievements were possible because of the enhancement in per capita medical expenditure here. The per capita expenditure stood at Rs. 538 some five years ago and it had shot up to Rs. 830.

The biomedical science had a wide spectrum, and research in the discipline had increased manifold and would help create a high profile of health care. Holding of such conferences and pre- conference workshop would provide opportunities for delegates from different parts of the country to share their ideas.

Mr. Valsaraj presented the IABMS-sponsored `M.K. Nambiar Memorial Oration Award' to the Vice-Chancellor of the Madras University, Ignacimuthu, and the `Dr. P. Brahmayya Sastri Memorial Award' to the Director of JIPMER, R. Sambasiva Rao, for their contributions to medical education.

The `Dr. C.R. Krishnamurthy Award' was presented to the Professor of Medical Biochemistry of Madras University, D. Sakthisekaran, in recognition of his contributions and research works on the environmental toxicology. Junior scientists R. Muthulakshmi Parandaman, S. Mumtaz Banu, S. Tamizharasi, Nivedita Nanda and V Ram Prasath Manohar were given the awards instituted by the association under different categories.

Gopal Krushna Pal, the organising secretary of the conference, J.M. Prosper and M. Chandrasekar were presented the fellowship titles, while the membership titles were presented to S Varadamurthi, D. Kesavi and Pravati Pal.

The JIPMER Director, Sambasiva Rao, said the association of biomedical scientists was giving much importance for the young scientists and the conference had multi speciality character. He was glad to see young scientists formed part of the participants who presented research papers at the meet.

While the delegate from the All-India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, Ramesh L Bijlani presented a keynote address, the M.K. Nambiar Memorial Oration was delivered by the Vice- Chancellor of the Madras University.

Recommended for you