President’s medal for 23 police officers

On the occasion of Independence Day, a total of 23 officers from Tamil Nadu police, including R. Thirunavukkarasu, Deputy Commissioner of Police, Intelligence Section-I, Greater Chennai Police, have been selected for the President’s medal.

The officers are selected at all India-level for their distinguished work and are awarded twice a year (Republic Day and Independence Day). These medals are given taking into account the overall performance, achievement and reputation.

Two officers — R. Antony Johnson Jeyapaul,Commandant, Tamil Nadu Special Police II Battalion, Avadi and P.Ravichandran, Commandant, Tamil Nadu Special Police VII Battalion, Pochampalli — have been awarded the President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service.

Meanwhile, 21 officers have been awarded the Police Medal for Meritorious Service including Mr. Thirunavukarasu, M. Sathiya Priya, Deputy Inspector-General of Police, Training, Chennai and E.S. Uma, Deputy Commissioner of Police, Crime, Coimbatore City.

The others include V. Visweswarayya, Assistant Commissioner of Police, Neelankarai; K. Yuvaraj, Assistant Commissioner of Police, Social Justice and Human Rights, Chennai and other officers in the ranks of DSPs, inspectors and special sub-inspectors.

Two personnel from CBI, Chennai, have also been selected for the President’s Medal.

Recommended for you