Mayors assume charge

Mayors of nine municipal corporations on Tuesday assumed charge, apart from the Chennai Mayor.

In Madurai and Coimbatore, prominent figures of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), former Member of Parliament V.V. Rajan Chellappa and former Minister S.M. Velusamy became Mayors.

At the Raja Muthiah Mandram in Madurai, Corporation Commissioner S. Natarajan handed over the silver sceptre to the new Mayor.

In Coimbatore, Mr. Velusamy, who was Minister for Commercial Taxes and Housing during the previous AlADMK regime, took oath at the civic body's auditorium. Industries Minister S.P. Velumani presented the baton to him. Three former Mayors of Coimbatore – V. Gopalakrishnan (1996-2001), T. Malaravan (2001 to 2006) and R. Venkatachalam (2006 to 2011) – greeted Mr. Velusamy.

In Tiruchi, A. Jaya, after taking oath as Mayor, told reporters that her top priority would be to tackle drinking water shortage in some parts of the city. Animal Husbandry Minister N.R. Sivapathi was present when she was sworn in.

In Salem, S. Soundappan, who was Deputy Mayor during 2001-2006, assumed charge and said he would start working on the city's infrastructure-related problems immediately.

In Vellore, P. Karthiyayini assumed charge and told reporters that she would take steps to implement the Mettur drinking water scheme to ease the drinking water scarcity.

In Tirunelveli, Vijila Sathyanand took office as Mayor. Her first decision was to sanction the proposal for admitting students under the first group of higher secondary education at the Pettai Corporation Higher Secondary School from the next academic year.

L. Sasikala Pushpa, who became Tuticorin Mayor, said a drinking water project, estimated to cost Rs. 180 crore, would be taken up.

In Erode, Mallika Paramasivam became the Mayor and Public Works Minister K.V. Ramalingam handed over the sceptre to her. In Tirupur, Commissioner R. Jayalakshmi adminsterd the oath of office to A. Visalakshi.

Recommended for you