Mangalore MLA takes oath

CHENNAI, JUNE 1. V. Ganesan, who was declared elected from the Mangalore (Reserved) Assembly constituency in the by-election held along with the May 10 Lok Sabha poll, took oath as a member of the Assembly in the presence of the Speaker, K. Kalimuthu, here today.

The by-election was caused by the resignation of Assembly membership by T. Tirumavalavan, general secretary of the Dalit Panthers of India, protesting against denial of a seat by the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam to contest the Lok Sabha election.

Prominent DMK leaders, including the deputy general secretary of the party, M.K. Stalin, were present. Later in an informal chat with newsmen, Mr. Kalimuthu said the Assembly would be convened this month. However, he did not mention the exact date.